The Sickness

Stomach flu hit me yesterday. 2nd time in my life and it happened to be the 2nd time in less than 2 months! I wasn’t really feeling well all week. I was nauseas. I had very little appetite (which is REALLY weird for me). Food was simply unappealing. I had hot & cold flashes periodically through the week. I was really tired. Thank God I had my period this week because this is exactly how I felt when I found out I was pregnant. I went to bed early on Wednesday night because I was scheduled for 5:30am at work Thursday morning to put away and do the weekly Seattle order. I remember rolling over once while I was sleeping that night and I had some abdominal pain. When the alarm went off at 4:30am I asked Rob for 1 snooze because I felt like I hadn’t even slept though I had been asleep for 7 hours. When I did get up after the snooze went off I knew I wasn’t going to make it in for 5:30am. I spent 10 minutes in the bathroom fighting off puking. I came downstairs and decided to lay on the couch until 5:15am when I could then call in and let my team know I would be late. I fell asleep on the couch in 5 minute increments until it was time to call in. I said that I would likely be there by 6:30am, and went back to the couch for another 45 minutes. I dragged my ass to the bathroom, slapped on some makeup and put my hair in a pony – I definitely wasn’t well because I wouldn’t generally consider even leaving the house looking like I did, let alone go to work looking like that. I was at the top of the stairs, on my way down to the laundry room when my stomach flipped over. I stood there for a minute taking deep gulps of air and swallowing trying to keep the throwing up away. But, it hit me. I barely made it to the bathroom. I barfed all over the place. The thought of having to clean it up hit me in the same moment and I started crying. Crying and throwing up are not a good combination. When I was done I took a glimpse of myself in the mirror. I had mascara running down my face and onto my neck. I was a mess. I called work again and said I didn’t know when would make it, but I would be there. I knew I had to go in. The order won’t put away itself and I was the only one scheduled that day that knows how to do the Seattle order. Miss the order we might as well close down for a week. Anyway, I went and cleaned up my mess – making me gag and get sick all over again. When I was done that I went back up to bed. Rob was quite surprised to see me since he thought I had left for work over an hour before. I went back to sleep. Rob & Parker got up and left the house around 8:15am. I fell back asleep until 9:30. I once again dragged my ass to the bathroom to clean myself up and get dressed for work. Still feeling nauseous I left for work. Looking back I don’t actually remember driving there. That’s safe. When I got there all of the boxes that I was supposed to put away had been moved from the cafe floor and were in the back room. Less lifting for me to do – YAY! When SHE saw me come into the back room, SHE asked what I was doing at work if I was sick. I was surprised since the messages I was giving were that I would definitely be in at some point before the order was due to be submitted. SHE told me it was all under control and that SHE would look after putting the rest of the order away and she would do the Seattle order for me. It was a fluke that SHE was in and could help me out. SHE has been working in Red Deer for the last couple of weeks, but her work there ended. So, SHE was in our store with nothing planned work wise and not needed on the floor. I was able to come back home right away – I high-tailed it out of there before SHE could change her mind. I stopped at Shoppers for some Gravol and Gingerale . I came home, popped 2 pink pills and went back to bed for another 4 and a half hours. Thank God the day worked out the way it did – there is no way I would have been able to look after my work responsibilities feeling the way I did. I’m feeling better today. My neck and shoulders are sore from throwing up so violently. I have an ass tonne of housework to catch up on today/tonight. I know I should get started, but I really wanted to make use of Parker’s nap to get some time to write again. So now that I have the time, what else should I write about? Today has been ok with PJ. He’s really testing me with his desire to be independent. I’m trying my hardest to let him do what he can, but there are some things that I just have to put my foot down to. I’ve tried really hard to be calm and patient today and so far it seems to be working. He is napping after all. Though he did fight it, and I had to carry him upstairs to get him into his room. I didn’t do any yelling. Yelling is a huge problem in our house. I’m really trying to take a breath before reacting to anything. In other news, I weighed myself this morning. That was a very sad experience. I know I’m heavy, but I really didn’t expect to see the number that I did. More on that another time I suppose. Rob just got home early and I have done shit all around the house. I better get crack-a-lackin’.

PS – I really must learn how to write in proper paragraphs – this is really hard to read.

Log in to write a note
May 16, 2013

ryn – 😛 I got a whole bunch of requests after those notes, but a lot of them were because I’d been noted other places, too. Yeah, that chick is quite fascinating, and I wouldn’t have said anything if she hadn’t asked for people NOT to say anything. I felt then like I HAD to say something, but she twisted it around to suit her needs, so I just deleted her off my friends and bookmarks. Ican’t do that kind of crazy any more! Chick is going to end up a missing person one of these days. Randomness – I really adore your diary colours! Very spring-y.