Sleeping at night like a normal person!

So it has been ages again  – argggggggggggggh!

I am now in my 4th week in my new job – lovin’ it, lovin’ it, lovin’ it! I really am so much happier. I am using my brain – woo hoo. It is actually really interesting so far. Every call is different, I get involved in the claims, chasing payments, discussing sick animals. Might not sound great but I am really enjoying it. It sure beats ‘open the box, put contents on the shelf, open the next box, put contents on the shelf’ over and over again all night. Needless to say I am missing Sainsburys about as much as a hole in the head! It is a challenge working full time, not least due to the child care involved. We are getting there though – Chris’ mum and my mum have both been amazing! The kids have just started going to breakfast club before school. They absolutely love it! They get to watch tv and play with toys and some of their friends. They also get breakfast – they can choose what they want. They seriously love it! I find they are appreciating me more now as well. When I get home they give me loads of cuddles and are really sweet. I am also not so tired or snappy with them because I am SLEEPING AT NIGHT LIKE A NORMAL PERSON! novelty indeed!!! I am really appreciating the time I have with them and vice versa. All in all this move has so far been amazing for all of us. Chris and I are getting on really well too. (actually sleeping in the same bed at the same time helps ;op). Chris commented the other day that he expected to feel more stretched now that I am working full time but he wasn’t feeling too stretched. I said it is because even though I am working more hours, when I am home I am not knackered. I am actually more useful at home. Now, I am not saying I don’t get tired from traipsing into town each day and taking in all this new information because I do. However, it is a whole different type of tiredness!!! It is natural normal tiredness from a busy day, not the all encompassing exhaustion I used to get from forcing my body to stay awake all night! Readers who have done nights will understand that! So yes really happy with work so far. I may try to drop a day and do only 4 days at some point in the future. I think that would give me the perfect work/life balance…don’t wanna rock the boat too early on but we shall see. Oh yes! Found out as well that the ‘big boss’ ops manager is only a mum from the school! She recognised me and I recognised her!!! Her daughter, Isabella, is in my Liam’s class! Small world. I reckon that can only go in my favour if I wanna drop a day!

 

So that’s work covered I think.

The kids are all doing really well at school. Chris attended the parents’ evening yesterday (I was at work – go figure!). All 3 are coming on leaps and bounds. Academically and socially. I am so proud of them. After the issues I had with Lauren being bullied and Joe being a bit of a bully to Scott I am very relieved to say the least!!! Hopefully, that kind of thing is all behind us!  Joe is brilliant at maths (takes after me ..ahem). Lauren is great at spelling (takes after me…ahem), Liam is very modest (takes after me… joke!!! hahahah). Nah Liam is the life and soul of his class. A real charmer. He certainly is the comedian in our family.

It was Joe’s birthday last week (9th Nov). My boy is 6!!! He is getting really tall and dare I say it, a bit more sensible! We had a little family tea for him which he really enjoyed. He is having his school party on Sunday which should be good. Lots of his friends are coming. He is having a Go Karts party. I need to go shopping on Saturday for cake and party bag stuff!

It was also my mum’s birthday last week (7th Nov). She turned 73. 4 of us clubbed together and bought her a Kindle and put some books on it! She loved it! She really needed it too because her eyesight has deteriorated so that she struggles to read the print in regular books. The Kindle allows her to increase the font size just slightly so that she can read it comfortably. When I gave the present to her she remarked "Wow I feel really loved" – You are mum, you really are. I can’t begin to explain how much I love this woman. She is my best friend in the whole world and I hate every year that goes by because it is one year less I have with her. She is simply amazing.

What else? Christmas fast approaches!!! ARGHH – get paid on Friday and am gonna have to do some serious shopping!

That is kind of it for now.

 

Will update again soon – promise promise!!!!

Log in to write a note
November 14, 2012

So glad you’re enjoying your new job! That’s great! 😀

November 15, 2012

How great to get such a positive entry – and you must be doing something right with your kids!!!! So it seems to be satisfaction all round – without even mentioning ‘sleeping’ in the same bed

November 15, 2012

haha Love this! You entry remind me so much of HOW EXCITED I was when I go to work and loving it all! Love it more when my colleagues are awesome! hehe … Can imagine you sleep like a normal person at night then! LOL