The Bond

My mum died on October 4th 2023. I will write a full entry about it soon. I wrote a poem about it called The Bond. I read it at her funeral. This is it.

 

The Bond

You loved me long before,
I took my first breath.
And I’ll love you forever,
A bond greater than death.
All through my life you have been
My biggest strength and stay.
I always feared the day would come,
When you would go away.
But recently it’s been so hard,
With this awful disease.
I longed to make you better,
I wished you could find peace.
As time went on I realised
We would soon have to part,
As your mind was slowly breaking,
So to, was my heart.
And even though my soul’s in pain,
I’m glad you are at rest.
I’m honoured you were my mother,
I have been truly blessed.
So as I softly say goodbye,
To my first ever love.
I’ll try to make you proud In case,
you’re watching from above.
Since you left I’ve gone through life,
feeling kind of numb.
Not sure how to be without,
My love, my strength, my mum.
Log in to write a note