09/18/2013

 Drink: Venti Sugar Free Vanilla Iced Coffee with Non-Fat Milk & Cinnamon.  Yum. 
 Food: Greek Yogurt & Honey parfait from Starbucks.

This has become my breakfast of choice lately.  I am in love with the granola mix they use in the yogurt. There’s even coconut in it.  

In other news, the other day I was walking in my house and noticed this guy hanging out on the heater inside Vivien’s tank:

I have no idea why the picture came out so huge, but I can’t scale it back.  Anyways…it’s the Bamboo shrimp I bought about 2 weeks ago that disappeared the next morning!  I think he was hiding in the filter since it’s the one place I didn’t check because I knew he couldn’t have gotten sucked inside of it and never imagined that he’d climb inside of it.  It apparently sleeps in the filter though because that’s where I’ve found him every morning since.  I’m pleased though, that he’s doing so well.  When I got him he was a pale colour and now he’s got that fancy stripe as well as a nice red tint to him.    I think I might get more shrimp.  They’re kind of cool to watch.

In other news…I applied for a new job at work. It’s out in the open because when you apply internally your boss has to sign off on it.  My not only signed off on it but gave me interview tips, some words of encouragement and offered a recommendation as well as a reference. It’s a really good opportunity for me.  And if I get it, and I get the starting salary as posted for the job it’s a massive increase.  We’ll see though.  I’m really excited about it, and would love this opportunity. SO I’m going to stop writing about it because I’m jumpy enough waiting for "the call".    I got the call as I was writing the last paragraph…I got the job!  We still have to go through HR and get a formal offer, figure out start date etc…but I got the job!!!!!!!

I think that’s about it. Yesterday I made the reservations for our mid-point hotel rooms as well as our "extra" stay at Shades of Green.  Not sure if I mentioned it, but Shades of Green is the hotel the military operates as a vacation facility for military (active, reserves and any veteran).  The hotel actually was one of the original deluxe resorts so the rooms are a good size and the facility is a bit fancy.  BUT the cost is scaled according to your rank (or rank when you left service) so for us…it’s $105 for a room with a patio/balcony and a pool view.  I"m leery though because I’ve only stayed on Disney property and this technically isn’t so a few of the things I like aren’t offered. BUT…I want to check it out for myself. If it works, and we don’t mind the driving I can see us taking a few Disney trips a year.

Log in to write a note
September 19, 2013

I’d love to hear a complete review on Shades of Green!