09/07/2013

For money reasons we decided to cut our Disney trip nearly in half.  Given Viven’s age we tallied up what was important to us both in the vacation and around the house and it just made more sense.  Anyways…since we’d planned on taking the time off work anyways we’re going to drive there instead of fly!  On the surface this appears to be a big savings as airfare was going to cost about $900.  We’re going to take our time though and make a mini trip out of it. Here’s our plan so far:

Day 1-Big Driving Day
-Get up super duper early (like 3am) and head out.
-Officier is a huge Civil War buff, and since the route to Florida takes us right through Vicksburg Mississippi we’re planning a longish (2-3 hours) stop there for lunch and a good leg stretch.  We have a 2 year old so obviously we’re stopping before/after this.
-Check in at Fort Walton Beach hotel-proably at an on base hotel which run  like $60.  It’s a 10 hour drive from our place without the stop and Officer is pumped about it. The man loves to drive.  I love to sew, read and nap so we’ll be cool I think.

Day 2-Short Day
-Leave around 6am to drive to Orlando.  It’s a 5 hour drive so we’ll get there early in the day.
-Check in at Shades of Green.  Relax. Shades of Green is an on Disney property hotel owned and run by the US Armed Forces.  It’s actually super cheap to active, retired and reservists to stay there (as cheap as $95 a night) and was formerly a Deluxe resort so its nice. But since it’s not technically a Disney resort there are some limitations that make me wonder… this is the perfect way for me to see for myself if it’s worth it for a trip or not.  You guys know I’m kinda picky about how I do Disney.
-Dinner at a Disney resort restaurant or Downtown Disney. Not sure which yet.
-Drinks on the beach at the Polynesian Resort while we watch fireworks.

Days 3-5 Check in at Art of Animation Resort and spend time in Walt Disney World!!  Day 5 includes tickets to Mickey’s Very Merry Christmas Party!  I’m working on getting us a reservation for the Tomorrowland Terrace Dessert & Firework Party.  And thanks to the Dining Plan we have plans to eat meals with Mickey, Minnie, Donald, Daisy, Goofy, Pluto, at least 4 Princesses (I suspect Belle, Cinderella, Ariel and Sleeping Beauty based on prior experience at this restaurant), Winnie the Pooh, Tigger, Eyore and Piglet all without breaking the bank.  Love love love the Dining Plan!

Day 6
-Breakfast with Lilo & Stitch 
-Head to Downtown Disney for some shopping if we didn’t get to go yet.  
-Leave Orlando area no later than 2pm.  Head to Ft Walton Beach again.

Day 7
-Drive home. No big stop planned unless we see something on the way down to do again.

I’m actually excited about the trip.  Cutting it in half meant that we had to make some choices on things we’d do and not do…jamming all the character meals we wanted was hard and there’s a few we had to skip (Snow White, Merida & Mulan may be hard to meet as well have to find them in the parks-but the other meals means we’ll at least see SOME.  LOL.) but when I made those choices a lot of the magic was gone for me.  But I really need to keep in mind that this was more about going at Christmas time and seeing the decorations and Christmas Party than a big Disney trip.  Anyways…I’m excited again.  

Other than that…here’s a pic of Vivien being cute at dinner one night. 

Have a happy Saturday OD!!

Log in to write a note
September 7, 2013

Sounds like a good plan! This is very similar to what we just did down to California, which I still need to post about but OD keep crapping out on me 🙁 So will you be at Disney actually ON Christmas Day?

Not to mention you’ll have countless other opportunities as Vivien grows to go back again and again! I can’t wait until we make it down there. I’m looking forward to it and we’re not planning to go for another 4-5 years, haha.

September 12, 2013

Sounds SUPER exciting and still like a ton of Disney! ryn: I felt pretty good about the deal on the camera… It was $399 from Walmart and I picked it up at the store the same day. I can return it for any reason within 30 days but I’m hoping to LOVE it and have no desire to return it. When I bought my last camera 2 years ago this same model was $650. $400 is more fitting with my budget.