Good bye MR C

I believe that people are brought into our lives for short periods of time, but what they leave behind in our hearts is immeasurable and long lasting–MR C has done such a thing he has left a part of his spirit tucked deep into my heart.

I sit on your bare, cold, green mattress, the housekeeper was quick to clean up your room. I’m sure another dementia sufferer will soon be occuping this bed. I came to say good bye to you in my own way. I see your belongings need to be boxed up and your shoes are still here next to your bed.

I loved running my fingers along your brown leather Rockports, I knew your wife of 52 years wanted you to look impeccable -dressed to impress even at 95 years of age. Me on the floor in the bathroom making my attempts of slipping these damn shoes over your heels and you trying your best to push your heel down into the shoe. It reminded me of a Laurel and Hardy stint–the two of us (: but once over the heels and laced up you felt like such a young distinguished young man of 20. It was worth the effort. Last but not least your HANKIE!!!! just had to have a real hankie and Klenex was unheard of in your world.

Your daughter came into the wing to pick up your personal belongings. I could see that she was grieving, as soon as she walked into the wing, her tears started to pour down. I stopped what I was doing and came out and told her “I’m so sorry”. We hugged each other I wanted her to know how you made a difference in my life. We shared wonderful tales of you. Mr C – you never told me you worked along side of General Macarthur. Such a Southern Gentelman you are and didn’t want to toot your own horn.

She left the wing with a lighter heart and I went back to tending to my other patients. Life does go on..but I once again have been touched by the spirit that has passed through and now beyond the pines.

GOOD BYE MR C

Applaud, friends, the comedy is over.

–Beethoven (on his deathbed)

Log in to write a note
February 18, 2006

It sounds like he was a wonderful man… What a lovely entry.

February 18, 2006

He’ll be in your heart forever. Some patients manage to crawl in there and never leave. This is a lovely tribute to your Souther Gent. many gentle hugs Take care.

February 18, 2006

Caring for people takes you high yet there is a saddness to it. G’by to your Mr. C

February 18, 2006

What a nice tribute to your friend…I’m sure he’s smiling down on you, and that you’ll have a guardian angel for life! =)

February 18, 2006

he is lucky to have had you caring for him….and he sounds like he was a wondeful man….

February 18, 2006

How very lovely.

February 18, 2006
February 18, 2006
February 19, 2006

Your job makes me cry. Stop it!! It is nice to know that there are nurses out there like you who make a difference in the lives of the elderly. Please make sure you pass on your compassion to all the nurses, especially the young ones, that you teach. There is not enough of you to go around.

February 19, 2006

And so he lives on in your heart and all of ours that read this…He is looking down and smiling….

SOC
February 20, 2006

Quite a man. I am so terrified of getting that old.

February 20, 2006

what a tribute! this gave me chillbumps.

February 21, 2006

Every once in a while we are blessed to have a special someone come into our lifes and touch us in ways no one else can, Mr. C sounds like such a person. I am sorry for your loss, but delighted in the knowledge that such a person has touched you.

no..thats someone completely different. lol