Shameless Self-promotion

<shameless-self-promotion>

The nerve of me to not post for over a year, and then I do, and the next thing I post is a shameless plug for my next short film project. It’s not as bad as you think, and quite frankly, if you’ve been here long enough, you wouldn’t be surprised. Nevertheless, I’m embarking on a new adventure with my first short film project, but I need a little help to get things rolling. The film industry is a highly collaborative environment, and while there are lots of people willing to donate their time, there simply isn’t enough willing to fund a project they know nothing about.

We’re all writers here and this short film project tells the story of a struggling high school student trying to begin a tedious writing assignment where he has to keep a journal for the remainder of the school year. For some of us, that’s a simple task, because we do it already (maybe not so much me, but my head keeps a running track). However, with low grades on his writing assignments in English class, the idea of having to write more is overwhelming. At least he tries, he wants to succeed, because if he doesn’t, he fails the class. He decides to start fresh with a new journal, so he visits a local bookstore to purchase a new one. While there, he runs into a fellow classmate and has an unexpected heart to heart about their pasts.

The short film is an adaptation of a short story written by a local author (to my area of Maryland). It’s a powerful story on how writing can be a safe alternative to destructive behavior that not only harms yourself, but others around you. If writing helped you through some tough moments in your life, this project may be telling your story, too. Click the poster below to visit the donations page if you’d like to help contribute to the project. Share with your friends and colleagues that might find the project a worthwhile venture. There are some nice rewards being offered at certain donation levels that I hope you will enjoy. Thank you for taking a look!

</shameless-self-promotion>

Log in to write a note