#TOTW3 What is an accomplishment you are particularly proud of?

I am proud of the completion of my all degrees from B.S to Ph.D. in another country and another language!! It was a pure struggling, but in the end I felt that I’m glad this event came to my life. It gave me much confidence and I saw the multiple pathways leading to the successful outcomes, this would apply into many situations in my life. At the first exam for my B.S. I did not have any English skill set, so literally I remembered each sentence and word…probably I forgot some words so the sentence did not make any sense, but faculty tried to understand my answers. At the defense presentation for my doctoral degree I had good spirits and expressed my thoughts as much as I could have. I knew I passed when I was waiting outside to hear the decision making for my degree. I want to brag about this because it was really really hard! I could not understand Law and Order so decided to watch Family Guy to learn English first. Then, I watched the following shows as my English became better; Scrub, South Park, Office, 24, Law and Order, Grey’s Anatomy, Sherlock (BBC), too many in Netflix. They helped me in many ways, not only gaining knowledge but also accent, conversational skills, and expression. I still go to the speech therapist now, this was one of the best practices in my English user’s life because they are articulate and patience to fix my problems. All of my efforts was to get my doctoral degree. It is not only my dream, it is a dream with my dad who is also a scientist and doctoral. I know that he wants one of siblings to get a doctoral degree, and here I am! I made it, dad!!

Log in to write a note