How will I do it all?

Taking care of a 3.5 month old baby which who I am still nursing.  Master’s program.  Full time job (back on Wednesday after maternity leave).  Fitting in time to exercise.  Oh, and no babysitter (thanks, COVID).

All of these things will be apart of my life starting Wednesday, and I’m nothing short of petrified.  I’m one who does not handle stress well–so I’m really unsure as to how all of this will go.  Part of me is strangely excited (?)–honestly, I THRIVE on being busy.  My mom is the same way.  We do not do well when we don’t have full plates.  But also–is my plate too damn full?  Probably.  I had envisioned us having difficulties getting pregnant, but lo and behold, we got pregnant the first week we tried (and we seriously felt so blessed and lucky as we know that some couples struggle).  So Tarin (our baby boy) was a fun surprise–however, I had THOUGHT I’d be done with my masters before he/she was born.  I only have 2 classes left (more like 1.75 classes) and so the end is near.  But damn if it isn’t a LOT.  My last class was so intensive, and I had to do it while on maternity leave, which in retrospect was actually nice as I didn’t have to worry about work.  But all I did was homework!  Literally 3-5 hours per day.  Or, I’d get settled into homework and baby starts screaming (Murphy’s Law), always seems to happen that way.  Luckily, this new class I am in is definitely not as difficult, but still requires daily completion of homework and also a group project.

On top of my general responsibilities, I have really been enjoying our Peloton bike!  It’s been nice as I can just hop on whenever I want.  Unfortunately, that comes to an end now that I have to go back to work.   I am normally an avid half-marathoner, but due to work and school, I was horrible during my pregnancy.  Literal cookies dipped in frosting horrible with no working out.  Ended up gaining 60 (!!!) pounds.  But luckily, I’ve already lost about 45 of those pounds.  I don’t actually really care as I feel strong and healthy, but I forgot how much better of a human I am when I exercise.  I am happier, eat healthier, and as my husband so kindly put its, just generally more pleasant to be around. LOL.  So now, we throw in fitting in exercise into my INSANE daily routine.

To be honest, I’m excited to get back to work.  I love my job, my boss, my coworkers.  It will be so nice to get back into the swing of things.  But fack!  I don’t wanna be in school.  School is throwing a wrench in things.  :/

Lastly — my uncle (mom’s brother) is unfortunately in the neuro-ICU with brain bleeding.  My family is across the country, so these types of situations are really hard.  I wish that I could snap my fingers and be there.  I of course am sad for my uncle, and hope he gets better, but in a lot of these situations, you’re more sad for the people in your family that it’s affecting the most, like my Mom and Grandma.  Again… just another thing.

Gotta love life.  As you get older, it keeps pouring it in and doesn’t stop for nothing.

Wish me luck in not losing my damn mind.  School ends December 2nd…

Much love,

Elle.

 

Log in to write a note