Brilliant…(NJM22)

…is what all of you are.  I was floored today while reading the many, many, notes on last night’s entry.  As I said back there – there’s a lot of smart people here, and you sure showed it.

Thanks first of all for all the thought put into your suggestions – I really appreciate it so much.  Some of the ideas are things I had thought about, but am glad to see others agree – while many of them were things that had not occurred to me.  I’m churning through all of them, and giving it a lot of thought, but I also wanted to address a couple things.

First, I don’t want OD to become like Facebook or any other social networking site.  I understand the unique differences that make OD special to all of us, and different from all of those other places.  That, I don’t want to change.  I only used FB as an example, of a site that has grown hugely (obviously).  I also have no desire for OD to be as BIG as FB – as many said (and I readily agree), a community that large just wouldn’t be OD anymore.

My concern is not that OD is too small – it is simply what I said before.  For a community like this to survive and thrive, it must draw in a steady stream of new members – and that is something that is becoming harder and harder as people are occupied elsewhere online.  In any case, I have no intention of trying to morph OD into something it is not – I would just like more people to know about it.

We do have a Facebook page (something several people suggested), and I guess I haven’t promoted that well enough (since many people didn’t know it exists).  It is at http://www.facebook.com/home.php?#/pages/Open-Diary/211528475536?ref=ts.  I will improve the visibility of that, as I can.  I also am looking at better ways to use Twitter, StumbleUpon, digg, etc. to promote the site.

Some folks suggested streaming entries to FB or Twitter – but that is something that is problematic, because I wouldn’t want to do it without people’s permission.  And as we’ve established, I think, there’s not a lot of OD members who want to share their OD entries over there, for fear of being found.

Many people confirmed exactly what I thought, which is that OD is their "private" place, and they don’t want to let people know about it IRL.  That’s fine, and what I expected.

A few people mentioned contacting Oprah or other shows with some of the fascinating stories on OD – this is something I try to do fairly regularly, and I do send pieces of stories (with the consent of the member) through to various shows and press outlets.  However, the press is pretty fickle – we used to get a lot of press coverage back when OD was new and unique, but people in the press don’t really see us as unique anymore (even though we all know that we really are!).  So, press coverage these days is hard to come by – it seems that the only site anybody in the press wants to talk about lately is Twitter.  I do agree that some of the stories of people getting married here, or finding support, or helping their friends would make great material, and would be very interesting to people in the outside world.  The problem is getting a show (or newspaper, or magazine) to take a look at it.

Some of the other creative ideas I really like a lot.  The idea of preprinted flyers or stickers is something I have been considering, and it’s nice to see that others think that might be a good idea.  I like some of the slogans that were suggested a lot – another one I had been thinking about would be something like "Tired of talking about your life 140 characters at a time?  Try something deeper."  I’m going to work on this sort of thing more, I think.

Which ties in with something else I had been thinking about – and something others had suggested, which would be providing an incentive to members for helping out with this sort of thing.  What I’m considering is something like "OD Evangelists" or "OD Booster Club", in which people could do something like post information online or refer friends or post flyers and then receive OD Plus credits (or something else) in return.  I’m working out the specifics of that, and I’m encouraged by the responses to think that something like this might work.

So, thanks for all the thoughts, and keep them coming.  Thanks again for the clarity and honesty of your responses – it has given me a great deal to think about.

The DiaryMaster

Log in to write a note
November 29, 2009

Lol, the OD Booster Club! Do we get to do an annual bake sale, too? 🙂

November 29, 2009

And now, i’m craving cookies.

So long as we don’t have to get booster shots, I’m on board. =)

Can we add cute kittens as well? They would really help! How can one not pass up a cute little kitten!

woohoo! I’ll bake for the bake sale. 🙂 And I would absolutely print flyers and leave them in places like the library/book store/heck – the wal-mart book section. Count me in. Just so long as I don’t need to expose myself in the process. I like the anonymity of something like that.

November 29, 2009

Yea I totally like the idea of a Booster Club!! I am sooo in! 🙂 xoxo

I would rock a OD bumper sticker!

November 29, 2009

Speaking for myself, as a lifetime OD+ member already, of course getting OD+ credits means very little to me, but for some free OD shwag I would happily devote even more time to spreading the word.

November 30, 2009

Some may not like the ideal but I am willing to even pay more. I love this place.I love my O D friends. I never want to lose this site.

November 30, 2009

I’d be happy to donate a bit of translation help for those flyers 🙂

Vee
November 30, 2009

maybe you could have an opt in option so people can specify whether theyre ok with their diary being shared outside OD?

Thanks for listening to everyone. I realize it’s a huge task. I remember when OD was in the press and I gritted my teeth and prayed my entries were not picked up by the press at the time. I have to remain private like many people do. You do such a fantastic job of keeping this place running, yet still allowing the younger set and those without money a place to write. It’s been over 10 years for me, and I know I’ll be here as long as you are!! Best regards,

November 30, 2009

Yeah! Five stars for OD! 🙂

ooh I like that slogan. I would be willng to wear a t shirt or have a bumper sticker say that. That is neat!!

November 30, 2009

i think the bumper stickers are a great idea, and maybe bookmarks too.

Since basically the only thing I do on Facebook is play the games, and I think Twitter is stupid, I’ve never hear of Stumbleupon. Will check it out. I like the class that OD has over the other sites.

November 30, 2009

Hugs………..

November 30, 2009

You can advertise OD on my pregnant belly…

Better ideas than I had, that’s for sure. 🙂

November 30, 2009

stop the presses!!!! I got it…OpenDiary-the movie

November 30, 2009

I.. really don’t know if you’ll get 8 entries in by the end of today.. but I admit I’m watching to see if you try…

November 30, 2009

when i first came to OD, i actually came to QSD – i found mention of the site on a forum that had a thread for quitting. there are a lot of relationships that develop through forums, for all sorts of groups. i’m a member of one for framers – for when i need that odd piece of plexi or rag mat. i confess to skimming the previous entry, but have you posted around?

November 30, 2009

not in the obnoxious spam sort of way, but you know what i mean.

November 30, 2009

yeyyyyy booster club! if we get matching sweaters i’m in! 😛

November 30, 2009

Here is my “why OD rocks my socks” story if it could be used for something. 🙂 http://www.opendiary.com/entryview.asp?authorcode=D744663&entry=10476&mode=date

November 30, 2009

I found the site on a message board, I believe. Somebody posted a link to a site called ‘All about me’ and THAT site had various links to things about geneology, name origins, etc, and one of them was ‘your diary – keep it online’. Also, PLEASE never call this site a blogging site! This is my diary, not my blog.

November 30, 2009

is the facebook link on the main page? im game for bumper stickers and booster clubs. ill even make fudge!

November 30, 2009

I think one of the strengths of this place is the ease and variety of formating, photo posting, etc. Also the fact that you are always making it better. Truly better. And I like each entry a separate entity with it’s own notes right here!

December 1, 2009

Hey, I have a a suggestion for Editor’s choice now that NoJoMo is over: http://www.opendiary.com/entryview.asp?authorcode=D740767&entry=10082 DePhoMo! The great month for us photo enthusiasts 🙂

I became an OD fan on FB. And suggested it to everyone who didn’t already have an FB. I’m pleased to share that… well, at least ONE of my friends has become a fan, too. I hope that means she’s come on board over here, too!

A while ago I gave OD the thumbs up on Stumbleupon.com I was the first person to have done this (I had to write a little about it), so hopefully the many people who use stumbleupon will come and join this community.

Oh grand OD Master… Will the mobile app work for the LG enV Touch? I want an app on my screen from OD because I LOVE it here and am an addict to this site. Jsut let me know. Thanks!

December 1, 2009

are you doing dephomo?? i had no idea there would be another one, perhaps you can redeem yourself. =P i’m kidding. you got 22 in. thats not too shabby. i figured SomeOne would have to suggest linking to other blogs and networking sites. i understand you want more people here but i wouldnt feel comfortable personally with many more. you need a radio, tv, newspaper mention/appearance.

December 2, 2009

RYN: I can do Finnish and passable Swedish. It just occurred to me that whatever advertising scheme you come up with, it might be good to do it in other languages too – and people are very much into their online communities in the Nordic countries 🙂 And I’m sure you can find native speakers for lots of languages on OD to help with spreading the word!

December 2, 2009

For a minute there, when you’d talked about OD Plus credits, apart of me thought for a second, that you might’ve been taking about letting us free OD users USE the OD Plus credits to actually be able to use the features of OD Plus! (But then, after thinking about it for a second, that’s probably not what you’re talking about!) But, I think I pretty much get what you’re saying now! 🙂 Lol.

December 3, 2009

Maybe you could make it non-profit like public television and get corporate sponsership or have member s contribute to Od like an annual fund drive. But be upfront of the cost of running the site. I contribute to Public television and I think this is just as valuable if not more then public television.

Mo
December 11, 2009

I just checked out OD on Facebook. It is very nice but have to echo several others… I will not list OD on my FB page b/c I don’t want people knowing I am here. I will admit to having some OD friends as FB friends however.