Loot (NJM20)

No, we weren’t swept away in the Black Friday crowd, thank goodness.

Unfortunately, the crowds were several times larger in the lines than they were the last couple years, and when we arrived at Best Buy yesterday morning at 2:30 there were already many hundreds of people in line in front of us.  Of course, they didn’t have many hundreds of laptops to sell, so we were out of luck with that.

However, we did get over to Wal-Mart, and got most of our list there, including a new DVD (Blu-ray) player for us, since ours just broke.  That was a nice Sony one, and $80 off the regular price, so that was good.  We also got a lot of Christmas stuff for the kids, but the best bargain of the day was probably the $2 (really nice) bath towels there.  We bought a lot of those, but probably should have bought more. 2$ DVDs were good too.

We then proceeded to two different malls, for the various Bath and Body Works/Victoria’s Secret/American Eagle, etc. promotions.  We were mildly successful with those, and returned home (after stopping at the in-laws for Thanksgiving leftovers for lunch) about 3pm and crashed for a couple hours.  Of course, in two hours, the phone rang four times – so we only had a sort-of nap.

After that, we got up and went back out to a third mall (this is New Jersey, after all) and took daughter for some pre-birthday shopping.  That was fun, and by then the crowds had disappeared.  We slept well last night.

The DiaryMaster

Log in to write a note
November 28, 2009

I’m enjoying these pictures of your life. I’m glad you are being more available to us. All however many hundred thousand of us. Thank you… and best wishes to you and your famil for the holiday season and beyond.

Way to go! I hope the rest of your weekend is a titch more dull. 😀

November 28, 2009

You have more courage than I, there is no way I would advance upon the hungry crowds as they looked for bargains yesterday. I am glad you lived to tell the tale.

November 28, 2009

Glad you made it back home safely!! I did get sucked in a little and went to walmart…they had this imaginext t rex mountian advertised for 19 bucks, reg 179.00 so I bit. After an hour of asking employess where it MIGHT be located and could they help me, one nice walmart employee stopped what she was doing at took me to all the places it should of been located

November 28, 2009

, then finally admitted to me that there was only ONE in the store and looks like some one already grabbed it. I have to admit, I was bummed!

November 28, 2009

Sounds like you had a successful day! 🙂

Wow sounds like you got some good stuff! 2 dollar bath towels..LUCKY..a household can never have too many bath towels..I love American Eagle! I wish they would have some good deals on that here in Canada..the stuff is great! But spendy!

November 28, 2009

I work at Bath and Body Works AND American Eagle LOL

November 28, 2009

Oh My Gosh! We did our part by going to the ACS Discovery shop where G got a new-to-him HP Pavilion. Only 4 years old instead of 11 like our Dell, and won’t load vista or 7…but who cares. 17 inch screen. Good value for a fraction of what they were asking for. Then we went to a couple of estate sales. So we too contributed. LOL We both like these entries you are writing. Thank you.

November 28, 2009

Sounds like fun!! 🙂 I didn’t brave the early crowds but got some good deals later in the day.

November 28, 2009

Target had some awesome DVDs for $3. I picked up the Goonies, since everyone should own the Goonies. Also, love the entries where you talk about more than just OD. Maybe these could continue after November?????

November 28, 2009

Ha! I must just be a spendthrift because no amount of savings in the world would get me out on Black Friday! But good for you on getting all that done!

November 28, 2009

Google *Married at best buy on black Friday.* It is freaky how many people did that.

November 28, 2009

Hmmmm… Wonder how many OD’ers stood next to the DM at 2;30 am and didn’t even know :-p

November 28, 2009

Wow.. what a lot of shopping! My daughter was going to get up at 4:00 yesterday to make to the Kalamazoo Best Buy opening at 5:00, but when the alarm rang, she turned it off and went back to sleep!

November 28, 2009

I really enjoyed these entries as well. It makes you more human than just the ‘business’ of OD.

Wow, I was way too tired to go to more than a few stores. I only made it to Target, Kohl’s, and Best Buy. I wanted to go to more, but the people started to get to me. lol Glad you were successful though.

November 28, 2009

Well, I’ve tried and tried to imagine any reason why I would get out of bed at 2:00 AM and camp out in a Wal-Mart parking lot for 6-10 hours so I could save a hundred bucks on a TV set. Sorry. My sleep, my comfort, and my self-respect mean more to me than a bargain.

November 28, 2009

::laughs:: You’re braver than I am. My mom and I decided as a family that we didn’t want to brave the crowds. So I just went to work like usual, came home, and ate leftovers.

November 28, 2009

wow thats a lot of shopping!

November 28, 2009

We avoided malls and stores like the pest.

November 28, 2009

Oh ho, another diarist (Bonnie Rose, I think) wrote of being in Wal-Mart and people buying ‘hundreds’ of bath towels!

November 30, 2009

Glad you made it home safely – we want to get a new digital camera for Christmas, but we did not brave the crowds for that, heh.

December 2, 2009