New Interest Matcher

Hi,

This is going to be quick, but there is something I’ve been noodling with the last couple days that’s kind of fun, and I just put it live on the site tonight.  It’s called the Interest Matcher – and its purpose is to let you search for other OD members that have interests similar to yours.

If you go to the "interests" menu at the top of the screen and click "interest matcher" you will see that it is pretty straightforward.  The first screen lists all of the interests that you currently have picked out in OD.  On that screen you can select up to ten interests that you would like to look for matches for.

When you click the Search button, the system will go out and find the members that most closely match the interests that you selected.  They are displayed with the best matches at the top, so if you find somebody that has all the same interests as what you picked, they will show up at the top.

The Interest Matcher only displays public diaries, since this is supposed to be a way for you to find other members that you don’t know, who you might be interested in visiting.

Enjoy!

The DiaryMaster

Log in to write a note
March 24, 2010

cool 🙂

I guess I should get some interests. Thanks DM for making OD awesome.

March 24, 2010

Hey! What a neat idea! Thanx, Emmi

March 24, 2010

OMG! This is so like how Match.com works. That’s how I met my husband! And also Librivox.org. I hope someone else signs up for it before the month is up. I hate to see it disappear. Once again, a job well done. *smiles*

What a fun idea! Thanks! *scrambles off to try it*

March 24, 2010

super cool

Oh wow what a neat idea. Love it!!

I just tried it and I got an error message =(

Microsoft VBScript runtime error ‘800a000d’ Type mismatch: ‘UBound’ /interestmatcher.asp, line 22

March 24, 2010

That’s how my (now) husband found me 🙂

So, I picked three interests I know I share with a friend of mine, who has a public diary, and I clicked on find matches and my friend did NOT show up anywhere. Hmmmmm. 🙁

Neat 😀

This sounds awesome!!!!! Thank you for always thinking of and making new ways to enhance our wonderful community!!! bighugz.

March 24, 2010

OooOooOOO!! Now you just took a chunk of my night away! *skips off to try interest matcher*

March 24, 2010

okay, now THAT is cool!!

March 24, 2010

Great! Thanks!! 🙂 xoxo

March 24, 2010

Smiles. Thank you. GBY&Y Hugs Love

March 24, 2010

Neat! 🙂 ~Shady

March 24, 2010

sounds nifty. i like it. 🙂

March 25, 2010

Very cool feature DM.

March 25, 2010

That’s a nice idea 🙂 Me like . Thank you , D.M. !

March 25, 2010

Epic, DM! I was messing around with it, and already found someone that I’m looking forward to reading and talking with. Thank you! Sometimes it seems so hard to find someone with whom I can develop a lasting rapport with.

March 25, 2010

Would it be at all possible to block one’s diary from this matcher? I find the idea of people treating my diary like a profile on a dating site more than a little creepy.

March 25, 2010

Awesome! Thank you!

March 25, 2010

question: how can i delete an interest that i don’t want anymore?

March 25, 2010

Ya but how do ifind the single womenz inflorida?

March 25, 2010

Very cool, and very thoughtful…

March 25, 2010

I like it.

March 25, 2010

Neat idea!

Thanks for posting my newstory!

Thank You for your note earlier on. Thank you for your welcoming of OD .. I ended up going to Lazer Quest. I didn’t do soo well though, but it was my first time 🙂 maybe if I go again i’ll get better. I didn’t really know where to shoot the person :S anyway, thanks x x

March 27, 2010

a very clever new feature. I like it.

oooh, very excited about this one

Hey, DM. I wanted to let you know that I understand why TL was on your radar. I know she starts things. I know she’s antagonistic. I just didn’t agree with what you did because I feel like you had so many other reasons and methods of punishing her that didn’t involve something so many of us think is a violation of our privacy and free speech. But that’s not why I’m here. Though I did want to make it clear that I do know what she’s like. Believe me. My reason for leaving you a note is this: I’ve started an LJ community for ex-Open Diarists, and I will be maintaining it and promoting it. I’m not leaving OD, but I am going F.O., so, as far as most people are concerened, I’m not here anymore. But I’m pushing this because if I leave, so will Tender Lumpling. If I maintain the community and encourage OD users to cross-post and stay active there, she won’t get bored (I hope) and wander back here. I do maintain my position. I’d write the entry again if I could go back in time and make that decision again. But I’m not out to cause OD to self-destruct (which I hope is obvious). So I’m trying to diffuse the situation with her before she makes thi

…things worse. You know I don’t agree with you much of the time, and I’m not trying to kiss your ass now. But you have to know that I love this website, and I care deeply about it. I want this to remain a safe place for us to vent and rant and rave. I think a lot of people see your point with TL, but I also think a lot of people are afraid this is the beginning of a new trendand that it might happen to people who aren’t as troll-ish as she is. Anyway. I’m pulling myself out of this. I just wanted you to know that, and I wanted you to know where I stand as far as this situation goes. Thanks,

December 28, 2010

I would like to ask your support in proposiing a New Year’s challenge to OD participants called “52 Thank Yous” (as a spin-off on the experiment carried out by John Kralik in his book ‘365 Thank Yous’). Please see my 12/28/10 entry, and cooresponding new Interest submission. Thanks so much! And Happy New Year to you, either way. :o)