New testers coming

I’m an old nerd, because when my brain said “testers” that was what I thought of. Some other day, we can talk about building models.

The testing of the new OD has been going very well so far – thanks to all of you, we have turned up a few things that didn’t happen in our internal testing. Some of those are already fixed, and others will be done shortly.

We’ve also gotten some great suggestions, including:

  • a better editor toolbar for writing
  • previous / next navigation at the top of entries in addition to the bottom
  • notifications for when somebody replies to one of your own notes
  • bringing back the All Notes view, showing all notes you’ve left or received

We are looking into each of these and some others, to see which can be done.

Also wanted to let you all know that we are going to expand the testing group (sooner than expected) because this has been going so well – so you will probably see some additional people coming to the site shortly.

Thanks again to all of you, and happy Friday!

Log in to write a note
October 6, 2017

Aloha Friday…!  (smiles)

October 6, 2017

I feel like the only solid comment for this entry would be a site suggestion involving flat enamel paint. I’m at a loss.

October 6, 2017

HA!

Tux
October 6, 2017

I’m glad note histories are coming back. I miss the old interests we had at OD too, I even created one or two of them. Maybe that could be brought back? 🙏 😀

Tux
October 6, 2017

Also please allow us to edit notes for a reasonable time period. 10 minutes or something? I wanted to clarify, I mean those “common interest” things we had that allowed us to find other diarists that had stuff in common with us. I guess Circles are kind of providing that functionality, but you had a whole set of data there already, kind of a shame to lose it 🙂 (Also there’s no provision for users to create circles – there oughta be, that was a cool part of interests)

October 6, 2017

I got what you mean! I’ve thought about the interests, because I always found that interesting (ha, pun) – but they were also a bit unwieldy. Will give it some thought (and the note editing too).

October 11, 2017

@thediarymaster piggybacking on this – how would the tags play into all of this? I’m still a little unclear on how those interact. 

At any rate, I literally met my husband because of the ‘interests’ so I’m of course in favor of bringing it back.  If I recall, interests were just diarist level metadata, whereas circles (and tags, it appears) are for making specific entries more findable.  That said, I think interests WOULD need some moderation (I’d say scrap the current list and start over)

October 11, 2017

(apparently I found the note limit 🙂 ) because it was really frustrating when there were 10 interests for basically the same thing.  It really only ‘works’ if there isn’t too much duplication. 

Alternatively – perhaps you could just have entry level tags, and diarist level tags?  That does make it a bit more freeform, but wouldn’t require as much overhead to maintain, and if there was a searchable list of availbale tags, people would theoretically know which ones they wanted to apply.

October 6, 2017

Great suggestions! Looking forward to see more familiar faces (er…names??) Happy weekend!

October 6, 2017

Glad to see another round of testers coming up. Dare we make suggestions? I suppose better to not put you in the middle of that. We’ll just be surprised 🙂

October 10, 2017

Finally got in! I waited too long and my password reset email had expired. But I’m all set now. 🙂

October 10, 2017

@Paris I’m glad to hear it, welcome back!

October 11, 2017

My thanks for your persistence this evening getting me logged as your newest tester (Hi all!). It’s wonderful to be back.

October 11, 2017

You’re welcome, I’m glad we were able to get you back in!

October 11, 2017

@thediarymaster you asked me if I had received the password email around 9PMIsh last night… it hit my AOL email in box at 12:45 AM this morning. Oh AOL my old friend, you are so decrepit.

October 11, 2017

@petersshadow oh my that’s a long time, poor old AOL. I will keep that in mind when we are working with other people with AOL addresses, thanks for letting me know!

October 11, 2017

Incoming!

October 18, 2017

So far, so good Mr DM

October 18, 2017

Is there any way to switch from writing in html text and back again whilst making an entry please? It’s not a big deal. I’m loving it all so far and, am thrilled to be here.

October 18, 2017

@daydreamer thanks, I’m glad you’re enjoying it! We are currently working on a rewrite of the entry editor, and I will put that in as something to consider. We are making an entry editor bar that will be fixed at the top of the entry, and switching in and out of HTML may work. Thanks.

October 22, 2017

Is there a preferred method for submitting feedback/suggestions?  Help tickets, a particular email address, or entry notes?

October 22, 2017

Hi @Moneypenny you can click the “Contact Support” link at the bottom of any entry and send in feedback or questions that way, that works best. Thanks!

November 12, 2017

After I have entered my post, I can still get a good start on a solitaire game before it is published. LOL Other than that, It’s working.

November 29, 2017

:*) This is going swimingly!!