Some sad news

I’m very sad to share some news that was sent to me today by another OD member – our friend ThomaS, who has been writing here with us in the new OD, and who was a long-time member of the first OD, passed away a little over a week ago.

In respect for privacy for his family, I won’t share any other details – but I remember ThomaS as a key member of our original community. He was with OD for a long time, and provided a great deal of wisdom to all of the rest of us.

ThomaS started writing on OD in January, 1999 with his first post here: Getting Ready – considering that OD started in October, 1998, he was a very early member – and we all respected him as one of the older and wiser members we had. Hard to believe that almost twenty years later we are talking about his passing.

We will miss ThomaS and his contributions to our community greatly.

Log in to write a note
January 16, 2018

Sorry about your loss. 😕

January 16, 2018

I saw him around OD(1) a lot. I am so sorry for this loss. I will say a prayer for his family and friends. Thank you for your kindness in posting this.

BJ.
January 16, 2018

I enjoyed reading ThomaS.  Very sad, he really enjoyed life.  Thanks for letting us know.

January 16, 2018

This is so sad. I was enjoying reading him again and was looking forward to more years of his writing.

January 17, 2018

Oh no, how sad. I wondered why he hadn’t updated in awhile, I enjoyed reading him. My condolences to his family.

January 17, 2018
January 17, 2018

OD is a family. I am saddened by the loss of one of our own. I extend my condolences to his friends and readers.

January 17, 2018

Sad to lose some of the Old Guard.

January 17, 2018

ThomaS was a good friend of George and mine. We were privileged to spend time with him when we toured Washington DC. We followed him on Facebook also. We really will miss him.

January 17, 2018

I had just started reading Thomas. He wasn’t one of my FAVs from the old diary. I’m so sorry to hear he has passed away. At least it isn’t like Facebook where they keep wishing them Happy Birthday years after they are gone.

January 17, 2018

I was so sorry to hear about ThomaS. I have been friends with him for years on OD , and on FB too although he didn’t post much there.

*tx
January 18, 2018

So sad to hear this.

January 20, 2018

Just saw this. I have read some of his posts. I am so sorry to read this one. My thoughts and strength are sent to his family. Rest peacefully ThomaS.

February 15, 2018

Just finding out about this now. I am sorry to read this; it is a loss to us all, as he was an important and beloved member of this community in its former incarnation, and I was looking forward to reading more from him in this one.

February 15, 2018

@meexplorer yes, it is very sad – he was one of the central figures in the first version of OD, he will be sadly missed here.