WYSIWYG Editor – Chinese and other problems

Hello everybody,

There are a few specific problems that I am aware of with the WYSIWYG editor, and am working on solutions for:

  1. Chinese language characters – Some of our members who use Chinese characters have reported that they do not save correctly when using the new editor.
  2. Copying and pasting – If you copy and paste your diary entry from Word (or elsewhere) the new editor may add a lot of extraneous HTML tags to try to get the formatting right. Because of this, you may find that an entry says it is over the 7,500 character limit when it shouldn’t be.
  3. Many fonts – similar to above, if you set many different fonts and sizes in an entry, the editor is not very efficient in how it writes HTML tags for them. It may tell you your entry is over the limit when it shouldn’t be.
  4. Entries not loading in the edit screen – Some users with slow computers or slow connections are reporting that it takes forever for the text to load into the editing screen (so long, that it seems to not work in some cases).
  5. No character count – I’m working on this one, but at present the character counter doesn’t work with the new editor.
  6. Times New Roman – Not many people like Times New Roman (count me among them), and the editor sometimes switches arbitrarily to this font without being asked to (impolite, at best).
  7. Paragraph breaks – some people see paragraph breaks disappear when they try to edit an existing entry.

While I think the WYSIWYG editor is a good tool (and fun to use), it may not work for everyone. The thing to remember, if you are one of these people, is that you can turn the WYSIWYG editor off.

To turn it off, click on the My Diary menu, and then Diary Maintenance. From the Diary Maintenance screen, select Editor Settings, and then click the WYSIWYG Editor checkbox so it is not checked. Then click Save.

If you turn the WYSIWYG editor off, you will have an editing screen just like to old screen on OD – with a plain text entry box.

The DiaryMaster

Log in to write a note

I was wondering if you can tell me how I can get rid of an entry in the theme of the week. At first the 2nd part of my entry didn’t work, but I guess now it does. Anywasy I notice that I put two of the same entry titles in the list and one when I checked it is wrong and I wanted to get rid f it so can you tell me how I can do that. Thanks.

Hey thanks, the eliminating paragraph breaks thing has been an issue for me.

Not all the times… But sometimes I still get that where it takes away the paragraph breaks. I LOVE the new editor… But… What can be done???

Another problem, maybe you are aware of it, is that the new editor doesn’t work with macintosh computers/programs. Not a big problem, just a minor inconvenience. Just letting you know. Thanks for your time,

will this also include japanese characters? because they haven’t been saving correctly on my american diary and i’ve been writing romajii, like it’s goin out o’ style…by the way. FOD may be old’fashioned to some but i love it! Jazz aka

Hi! I was the one being harassed by someone called NoteBandit? i wanted to thank you SO MUCH for deleting his diary…but now there’s another person harassing someone I read. The diary name is kissmyass and the note they left her was just completely uncalled for. I know this is like being a snitch, but I know what it feels like to have someone like that, and I want to do something to stop it. 🙂

i just read your July 31st entry about not leaving notes on here, and I wanted to let you know that whenever I’ve tried to email a problem in, the email address comes back as not there? both of them. I’ve copy and pasted to make sure it was right, I use hotmail…It just doesnt work :/

i have a question. where are all of my entries? if you deleted my diary, im requesting to download everything i have written. i am planning on publishing a book and a lot of what i wanted to publish was in that diary. i am BEGGING you. BEGGINg. i am so desperate right now i’d do anything. you can keep it deleted, but i need my work back. PLEASE note me back.

besides about um five/ten mins ago, the 21st i think??

of october, so not long ago

First off, I would like to apologize for clogging up your notes with this minor suggestion, but I do not know any addresses to contact you regarding site suggestions. The mention of Chinese characters in this entry made me think of a minor suggestion for this site: perhaps you could encode the site so that it sends data in UTF-8 encoding. It will increase support for international diarists (cont)

as well as allowing English speakers who are learning languages that do not use the Roman alphabet to easily switch between the two in entries. So, what do you think? Is it a good idea? Or is it technologically impossible/not necessary because there aren’t many international users on OD? Thank you for your time and the service on this site.

I have a quick question…Can I block someone from leaving notes on my diary? So far, the diarist seems to have taken the hint, but if it starts up again, I’d like to block him. I really don’t like having to delete all the notes he leaves. Thanks,

It’s good enough if I’m not disturbed when I write in Chinese… People who don’t read Chinese always left me foul languages because they saw a whole page of characters that they couldn’t understand. That’s annoying.

thank you very much…..It doesn’t work too well for me, and I really appreciate this entry.I also wanted to say that…I love your site and I love the work you put into it.take care.ciao

Not sure if you’ve already gotten this note before but if I create an entry in wyswyg mode and then save and exit – then go back to edit that same entry, it doesn’t go back to wyswyg mode. It goes to html mode.

That’s what I was going to recommend is that. I’m kinda get tired of the 7,500 limit and I was wondering if there was a way you could have a character counter where we add the entries in so we would know when there’s too many characters. It would make everything so much easier. Just make it an option when your in the entries page. But if it doesn’t work there’s nothing I can do.

Please don’t change TeenOpenDiary too! people didn’t like it when you changed this site either, so please don’t change TOD too, please please please please please please please please please please please please please please please please please please please please please please please please please please please please please please please please please please PLEASE…

I have two diaries on Opendiary. I check both daily, and log in and out of them. The strange thing is that when I’m writing an entry for diary A, the writing an entry screen for diary B shows up. Any suggestions?

I have two diaries on Opendiary. I check both daily, and log in and out of them. The strange thing is that when I’m writing an entry for diary A, the writing an entry screen for diary B shows up. Any suggestions?

i have a question…. does the HTML code for midi files still work in entries? or has that been disabled? (or is it done anouther way maby?) i tried to put the code in an entry, but it’s not working…

so ur tha person who controls everything? even tha new change? im surprised how one person can mess up a whole community of diaries. lotz of my friends and myself have transfered to Teen open diary, at least until they decide to make a stupid change. i’ve always likes FOD betta. but now im having trouble adapting to tha new change. well jus wanted 2 leave ya a note. sia XoXo *~*Britt*~* I Am

I have a question… There are some users I’d like to block, but they have never left me a note and I can’t find their diary by searching their username.. how else can I go about this? maybe it would be beneficial to be able to search for author codes?

Whoa…I didn’t know you could turn it off!!! Thanks for the tip!!!

I believe it is “The best laid plans of mice and men never did run true”… or something like that.