Shopping carts & hangers

Wondering about why people don’t put their shopping carts away? 

This is a personal pet gripe of mine.  What is so important that you can’t take the extra 30 seconds to push your shopping cart into the cart corral?   Okay, if its pouring down rain & you’ve got two kids attached to your leg, I’ll give you a break – been there, done that, plead guilty.  But otherwise…..

I lived in Georgia & Virginia for several years & people were notoriously bad for just leaving their carts all over the parking lot – even if the corral was like 10 feet away!!  My daughter still has a huge dent in the side of her car where a cart came flying across a parking lot & bashed into the side of her car.

I’ve also lived in the midwest for several years & people seem to be more polite about putting them away.  I’m not trying to make any cultural observations here! 

A friend of mine is from New Jersey & she never puts her cart away unless I’m with her & gripe about it!  She says nobody does it in Jersey – I’ve never even been to New Jersey, so I can’t address the correctness of that statement. 

Also a gripe right behind shopping carts is clothes hanging in stores.  How many times are you at a department store & you will see somebody knock something off a rack & just leave it laying in the aisle instead of picking it up & hanging it back?  What’s up with that?  I will give a break to the 70 year old ladies with a cane & a bag the size of Delaware, but you & I both know, the little old lady will stop & bend over & pick it up. 

Wishing we were a more polite & conscientious society…..

Log in to write a note
November 12, 2008

I pushed carts for 2 years. You just get used to it after awhile, plus cussing people out and spitting on there cars alleviates the anger. Not exactly polite, I know.