Primaries (Texas)

I have always hated politics. It has not helped that for most of my adult life, I have lived in a county (not country) where I felt that my vote literally did not count. In most presidential elections, the front runner in my party (Democratic) did not even come in second in the county where we live. Think about that!

Our daughter recently moved into the Dallas area from New Mexico, and during our visit last month for our granddaughter’s 5th birthday, our daughter mentioned that she had looked up all of the local politicians in her new area, and she early voted while we were there to babysit.

Impressed, I was. I decided that I, too, should investigate whomever was brave enough to run in tonight’s democratic primary here in the land of “red.” I spent a good deal of time online yesterday, and was happy to see so many more choices than in previous cycles – thank you, Trump! I assembled my list and forwarded it to my busy Hubby last night.

Today we each voted at separate times. When we met at the end of our workdays, I was a little surprised that he had voted in the Republican primary instead of the Democratic one. It’s ok, and not shocking, but I was just disappointed at first. Hubby leans more toward the middle, but he is more Democratic than he thinks he is, so again, at first I was sad that he did not help support those candidates that truly need a pat on the back in our area.

However, the conversation turned really fun when we compared the questions we were differently asked about what “proposals” (for each separate party) we were asked to support. And also super funny, the difference in the place and time of our party’s convention, which we are each invited to just by voting in the primaries. I think I just may show up with the other 5 democrats in my county to that awkward meeting. 😊

Log in to write a note
March 6, 2018

I was just reading about  Beto O’Rourke and how people are hoping Ted Cruz might become unemployed in January.

March 6, 2018

@sleepygene Yes! Based on my brand-new research yesterday, Beto was the one I voted for. My husband voted in the rep primary, but he did mention that he voted against Cruz. See? My hubby is a Democrat-but-doesn’t-want-to-admit-it-in-our-county!

March 7, 2018

Wonderfull