The Babenators.

It skips my mind how much I love my cats. I mean, it’s obvious, right there in front of me, and I will straight-up tell you. They’re always there first thing when I get home, usually T’Pol sitting at the top of my steps. And I say, “Hello T’Pol, were you waiting for meee?” Both of them always come to greet me when I come home. Fuck dogs, man, my cats LOVE MEEEE.

I feel like T’Pol has mellowed a bit in the past six months. As a kitten, she was very withdrawn and loved to hide away in her crate under my desk. I almost miss how I’d be at my computer, and T’Pol would be in the left crate, and Kira would be in the right crate. Cuz THEY LOVE DADDDDYYY. And stuff. T’Pol always shyed away from affection and would struggle away from us. Ah, but you know how cats are, they do affection on their own terms.

This, contrasted with Kira, who has always been a little cuddleslut. The first night we got the kittens, I hear a little meow at the side of the bed. Kira was too small to jump up onto the bed, so I picked her up and cuddled her. She spent the first few months SLEEPING ON OUR FACES. She could NOT get close enough to us. Since moving, both the cats tend to disappear at night, only to stalk us in the early morning hours like alarm clocks. While T’Pol is usually the vocal one (for fooood), it is Kira that typically wakes us up in the morning. Kira will sit on top of one of the dressers, looking down at us like a little vulture. Thankfully, it’s been some time since she’s jumped down directly onto my balls. GODDAMN IT KIRA, MUST YOU LAND ON MY JUNK?

But.

All drivel and backstory.

Being alone in my apartment leaves me a lot of time alone with my thoughts. And.

Just.

These little furry loving creatures who love Daddy. In the smallest of moments they bring me joy. I pace a lot in my apartment, so I’ll end up saying hello to them repeatedly. Don’t really ‘move’ them like I used to, I try to respect their space and just be all “Hello miss cat, I am pleased to see you and will now proceed with my day without disturbing you further!”

The apartment is silent but for the sound of Kelly Quark and a ticking clock. Aside from the occasional blinking red light on my blackberry, my babies are all I have between being literally alone.

Log in to write a note

Cats are the best… I swear my cat can say ‘mama’. 🙂