Welcome to Roxanne Covalent.

Hello. (Posting of previous entry aside…) This is the first entry posted from Roxanne, the computer I built last February. Our cable internet was turned on at midnight, and I’ve spent the last two hours or so making sure everything is right.

I was curious whether you had to setup the cable modem first, or the router. Router installation told me to connect to the modem first. I ascertained that the installation simply took the network address of Roxanne when she was connected, then cloned it to the router, thus the network thinks the router has Roxanne’s address. Or something like that. I get the basic idea. Installation completed and I was on the internet through the router.

Now, getting my parent’s computer to work, that took a little dumb luck, as usual. (You shouldn’t be surprised that I hooked up Roxanne first.) I figured I’d try doing the router installation again. Ran into the “connect to your modem first” dialogue. It refused to allow my parent’s computer online via direct cable modem connection. I remembered how the router installation worked. It should technically not require any installation, as the router already has Roxanne’s information and stuff.

I’m not really even sure what I did. For a while it claimed it couldn’t get IP information. I remember restarting at one point (something I didn’t have to do with Roxanne). I remember going to the Linksys website on Roxanne, going into their help section. There was actually a number of results when I used “Optimum Online” as my search query. What it was telling me to do was more or less what I had already done.

One way or another, I noticed the network connection was normal. I hit google ctrl-enter into the address bar AND BAM, I had google. Success! Next phase was trying to connect the two computers. I’ll probably never, ever have a real reason to use it, but it’s nice knowing I have the computers networked. Actually, theres only one usage: Printing. I can now pyrate my parent’s printer from the comfort of my own room. Ha ha.

That’s just how I am with computers. First time I do things, I never feel like I know what I’m doing. Because I don’t. I have no experience setting up a router. I gained some experience of what all those damn numbers mean while I was in the Rutgers dorm. Funny. I remember IP-hopping, which is a big no-no. I have a good excuse, I swear. Somebody stole my IP! BASTARD! So, I incremented my IP by one. Which was somebody else’s. Um. Yeah. I eventually had to talk to one of the higher-ups in Resnet to get my port turned back on. Ha ha.

Anyway, my point is that I can eventually figure everything out.

And I’m so freaking hungry. I only had four scrambled eggs to eat today. I think I’ll have another cereal bar, and then eat when I wake up in the morning.

You should probably get a visual of me, seeing as how this is where I’ll be posting from now on.

…I took this picture to show off my huge headphones. Apparently, my hair is huge-er.

A not-flattering picture of Roxanne Covalent.

And since I’m a geek, how’s about we review her specifications. : D

Gigabyte GA-K8NF-9 nForce4 motherboard
AMD Athlon 64 3200+ @ 2 Ghz, socket 939, stock cooling, ~30c
1 GB Corsair XMS PC3200 RAM (512 x 2) (Translation: it has LED lights on it to indicate activity. Hence: BlingRAM.)
Western Digital 100 GB 7200 RPM IDE hard drive (my old hard drive)
Western Digital 80 GB 7200 RPM SATA hard drive (More or less what I install new things to.)
AOpen 256 RAM PCIe x16 GeForce 6600
LiteOn CD-RW/DVD (52x32x52x, 16x)
LiteOn CD-RW/DVD-RW (52x32x52x, 16x)

What else. I have a 550W PSU. (A bit loud, I admit. Or is that all the rest of the fans) Same optical mouse used with Lisa Electron. Windows XP Professional. Legal copy, at that. *purrs* Roxanne may be a bit underutilized, but I still love her.

Log in to write a note
September 5, 2005

Wait…You have headphones on? *giggles*

YOWZER! White boy ‘fro – you go boy!

September 5, 2005

Your face makes me smile 🙂

September 5, 2005

*lol* Where are those headphones now?? Roxanne is totally cool looking. Except I have no idea what those specs mean, but I will just say GOOD JOB TIMMY!

Those headhphones are buried under your luxurious locks of hair… ha! You look pretty happy Timmy. 🙂

September 5, 2005

Did you said headphones or hairphones? Heh. *smirks and runnnnnnnnnns*

September 5, 2005

your huge hair is cute! 😛

ryn: it’s the plucking of eyebrows, upper lip hair, nosehair, even arm hair when i run out of stuff to pluck.

September 5, 2005

Of course Roxeanne is red. *giggle* She’s veeeery sexy though.

Roxanne looks like a gaming persons dream. 😉

September 5, 2005

ok… LOL i thought it was funny that u have OD on ur page on the comp.. OMG! I am reading your diary from the beginning… yes all 1,000+ entries. I’m addicted! :blushes: you rock!! \m//

September 5, 2005

I think your hair ate your headphones. 🙂 Roxanne is certainly a sexy computer, I love her specs. I’m holding out for dual proc to become standard,and to see if BTX is gonna take hold. and 500 gig hard drives to come down in price… TERAFLOP, baby! Aside from better airflow, I think serial ATA is a scam.

September 5, 2005

almost…sexy Roxanne sure is a fine piece o’ work. eh, you’re not too bad, either lol diggin’the hair, man

Oh damn Timmy,do you like gaming? Roxanne looks like a machine that would withstand the graphics for extreme online games. *Smile*

By the way I adore your hair, it is ehhh retro 70’s *schmoove*.

September 6, 2005

lol, I was gettin there. You are now added! sorry bout that.