Of Beginnings. *Edit

No one is truly dead so long as we remember them.
I believe this to be the absolute truth.
I say this because two of my long time OD favs have passed in as many weeks and it saddens me, I have noticed its effect on several of my other OD favs.
We should be strong, as hard as it is, and remember them for the wonderful people that they were, and will continue to be in their new life.

It is a time of change for me.

First let me speak of James. For the short time that I have known him he has taught me so much, it’s quite impossible to put into words what it is that he’s taught me, shown me, awoken in me, but it’s amazing. I feel like I’ve known you for my whole life—I can tell you anything.
I have finally figured out where he fits into my life and I’m happy about it. It is such a horrible shame that I’m leaving so soon after meeting him because, like all things long distance (with me), and with every good intention it really doesn’t happen. I mean, how can someone be your best friend if they’re not right there with you? We have a wonderful rapport—unlike any since I met Brendan, but this is even different to that. I do feel for him, but it’s not romantic and I know that we could never be what we need each other to be in a relationship, our dynamics are just too different to be, but lend to being a wonderful friendship… we were destined to share our secrets and to have acceptance for the uniqueness we share together. I’m truly glad I have him as a friend.

~~~
I did some research on moving costs for Melbourne.
I looked into; hiring a 1.5T van and doing it myself or a back-load option as I’ve got essentially only a bedrooms worth of furniture and a dozen tea chest boxes.
I have my car to get down there too, if hiring a truck and doing it myself I’d have to fly Shane up from Melbourne (who volunteered to help) to take the truck and I’d drive behind him.
Conservatively, with a rental for 4 days minimum and ‘return to different location’ surcharge, fuel (both vehicles), extra km’s, plane fair, accommodation and sundries: $3000-$3500.
Back-load (and I sought 5 quotes because the first I thought was a fluke): The cheapest quote was $470, the most expensive $510.
I think I’ll go with the back-load option.

That way I can stop at my parents for a week on the way down and catch up with them and see Robbie too.

*happy claps* YAY!

~~~
I refinance my personal loan on Monday.
My resignation date is set for July 31st.
My move date is set for August 31st.
Nothing—touch wood—has gone wrong.

My world is coming together and for this I am happy.

The only joy in the world is to begin. – Cesare Pavese

~~~
Edit. Questions via [An Empty Frame]

What is backloading? Simply, sharing the cost of the move with other people. Unless you’ve got a particularly large load it’s likely that your goods will share space in a single truck or container with other client’s.
Essentially, your things are on hold until such time as they can fill a truck to take it to your destination.

Where will you be living? Brunswick west (I’m going to assume that’s what you meant Aaron.

Got accommodation sorted already? Rent free with my bestie Brenden, his boyfriend Brendan and mutual friend Jamie (a guy I went to school with oh-so-many years ago).

Do you have a job sorted for when you get there? No and at this point I don’t really care. I just want out. I’m 30 and need to start doing something with my life and that means not being here.
The refinancing will give me some money to tide me over for a couple on months in the event that it takes me some time to find work.

Why are you moving? I hate this place and I want my friends back. I [we] didn’t move to Melbourne when Jay and I were together as he hated the place. So I stayed for him. When we broke up I wasn’t in a positon financially to move and kept putting it off and waiting, waiting, waiting. I can’t wait anymore. For my sanity I must go.

xoxo

love LPH

Log in to write a note

Woo. I am commenting on your last entry too. Guys with long hair are a no, no unless they are going to let you pull it as hard as you want. God, I wish I had a cock. I would just poke people with it ALL DAY.

July 22, 2011

I hope the move goes well! I assume you are referring to J Henry here. His passing has had an unusually strong impact on my life. I will remember him, probably as long as I live because the impact his passing had on me was so strong that I know now, no matter how low I feel, I will never take my own life because it is just too painful for the people eft behind. That is J Henry’s legacyto me.

July 22, 2011

Oh no not another OD’er 🙁 Stupid mortality. It should be outlawed. I’m sorry 🙁 I don’t know much about backloading (teehee) at all! I don’t even know who you call to ask. The first part of this about James, I felt like I was being narrated from a 1930’s tragic-romance movie, a love that can never be. And he has your name? 🙂 Sorry I worked all night bit tired noting this

July 22, 2011

I’ve heard about this, sort of randomly and in a very haphazard way. It’s always so tragic when someone passes away. But you know, maybe this moving thing is a way to start anew–new city, new beginning, new job…you know? I second Matty…I’m a little tired as I note this too…*hugs*

RYN: Also, give me your email and I can send you more pictures of Daddy and my little subby boy (limited ones of him because he won’t take any pictures of his face, shame).

July 22, 2011

Death is…sad. I am sorry. I am so happy to hear how smoothly things are going with your move! I am excited to see how things are going to play out.

July 22, 2011

Ryn: I don’t know if we’re friends yet, guess we’ll find out sunday. We mesh much better as friends, always have so if we can be friends, that’s be cool. Won’t hold my breath though. He annoys me! Ha.

July 22, 2011

Wow I’m excited you’re moving I want to hear all about it. What is backloading? Where will you be living? Got accommodation sorted already? Do you have a job sorted for when you get there? Why are you moving? *terribly interested* RYN: the only video game I can play (albeit really badly), Mario on Wii. Gabriel is heaps better than I am. In fact I think he’s better than Luke, too. Bloody genius children!

July 22, 2011

aw, i’m sorry to hear they passed <3 and i definitely know that kind of friendship, only mine has been put on hold for whatever reason.

July 22, 2011

No you’re not stupidhead!

July 22, 2011

thats awesome (re: answers to your questions). Looking forward to hearing about your life as it changes and hopefully improves. Woo!

July 23, 2011

J… Wil… Sadness has enveloped us, my friend, but as you say, we need to be strong, and push through. An empty hole will forever exist because of their physical absence, but we must go on, as it is what they would want us to do. *HUGS*

July 23, 2011

“all things long distance…really doesn’t happen…How can someone be your best friend if they’re not right there with you?” I agree. I parted ways with a friend when I didn’t make the cut for my job in the capital. I wished we could be closer as a friend (not romantic). But I guess it won’t happen. Soon i will be re profiled in another site, closer to home, so no more chance to get ties with him

July 23, 2011

Good luck on the move. I think your using the correct strategy to reduce your costs.

July 23, 2011

Pack for all seasons is my only advice 😀 I remember shivering my arse off in a corner whilst waiting for my bus to the airport, in the middle of summer 🙂 I do admit however that Melbourne is clearly the most amazing city in Australia – it deserves it’s own state. And I am jelly-jelly jealous 🙂

July 23, 2011

Everything is temporary, the people in our life, the situations of our life… everything. It’s frightening to remember that sometimes.

July 23, 2011

ryn: Trust me if only I weren’t afraid of being gay-bashed I would 🙂 And I’ve been posting shots of hotties from the security cam all year sweety 😛 Well okay maybe like three times so far, but I cant just take a pic of them right then and there while they are standing in front of me 🙂

July 23, 2011

ryn: I totally didn’t. I conveyed a lot of sorrow over Amy’s death in my original comment to her. But I also said it was rotten for her to have taken her death as a chance to display herself as this martyr for the arts, that it was a cheap shot trying to step in on a dead woman’s spotlight. I don’t think it’s speaking ill to say that Amy was a mess. I’m pretty sure she knew it, even embraced it.

July 23, 2011

I hope moving goes well, and that you find work quickly enough.