Question?

I was walking to the post office at lunch and was blocked by a big’ol bulldog that was sitting mid-path while his owner was drinking coffee and chatting. As the dog was eyeing me keenly, I decided not to jump over it first without bending down and introducing myself, a) to passively indicate to the owner that his dog was indeed blocking peoples way, b) he could possibly be startled by my stepping over him and I don’t wanna chunk out of me, c) I can’t resist patting a pooch!
The owner stopped his conversation and smiled as I looked up and said ‘he’s a good looking dog’. He nodded, although didn’t say anything and I stepped over and continued my sojourn to AusPost.

So the question I have is; what’s an appropriate descriptor for an animal, without sounding weird?

Is it okay to say ‘good-looking’, ‘pretty’, ‘cute’ when referring to an animal?

love, peace, happiness LPH

Log in to write a note
March 1, 2012

if it looks like a “man-ly” dog I’d say good looking, depends on owner too….. why are you worried about what you say about a dog????

March 2, 2012

if the dog is male and you are annoyed with the owner, “pretty” is appropriate…to stay polite, “good-looking” is good for male, “cute” for female, “adorable” for unknown… 🙂

March 2, 2012

All those and more are appropriate according to every animal owner I’ve ever known.

March 2, 2012

I’d describe a pooch the same way I’d describe a newborn 🙂 “precious” “cute”” fugly”, all come to mind.

March 2, 2012

Yup.

March 2, 2012

I think dogs are CUTE. That is the word I always use.

March 3, 2012

No… that’s just awkward.

March 3, 2012

i would think maybe “he’s a good dog” rather than good-looking is more common, but hey if he’s sexy let him know it.

March 4, 2012

That’s a very good question. I’ve been known to use cute, handsome, adorable…

March 5, 2012

he or she is cute is usually what I say.

March 8, 2012

“That’s a slutty looking dog you’ve got there”. I think that has a nice ring to it.

March 10, 2012

I usually say “cute” or “adorable” or “handsome” if it’s obviously a boy. Also, sorry I’ve been awol with notes. I’ve been creepily reading without saying much. lol