my summer

Well after the last entry we did go to Destiny’s visitation in Chicago. Her mom was very nice and was telling stories about how she loved cooking and having friends over but I still feel like there’s something off about mom because to me if you cherished this girl so much why would you send her and her sisters to school reeking like piss and in dirty clothes but then say how much Destiny loved getting her hair done and all this other stuff and even after the visitation there’s a family friend who put a amazon wish list online to get the family stuff but our school raised a bunch of money for the family from memorial t shirts and this family friend I believe raised money thru tshirts, buttons, fountains, and i think tumblers or candles so how do they not have money to buy these kids stuff for school and I told the friend about back to school giveaways for supplies and she was like they don’t have any transportation but they were able to show up to our family night at school and got backpacks with supplies in them like I don’t know something is not adding up. So my summer was just me working. June and August I worked summer school through the park district doing art. That was fun. We had pre-k thru high school students who were either in wheelchairs or profoundly handicapped. Then in July I made a BIG mistake working for school district. So I had been trying to get info about the student I was going to be with in June. My first big tip off should have been that the guy I was supposed to be getting info from was really scarce on what he shared with me. Like I was just told I will be riding a big yellow bus with this student and that the student was autistic. What he failed to mention was his family was in the process of suing the school district for the 2nd time. So yea. Our first day I go to the bus terminal and clock in and wait til the driver is ready to leave to go on route. We get to their stop and it’s him and his twin brother and a lot of other kids at the stop. He gets on the bus and everything goes okay. We get to school he gets off onĀ  his own , we go to the gym to wait for the other kids coming from breakfast and we go to the class. He does pretty good except he notices the IPAD cart in the corner so he goes ” Ipad please.” At this time the IPADS weren’t set up for the kids to use yet so I tell him he has to wait and he continues to say over and over again IPAD please. A para that I had talked to during summer school in June who had worked with him during the school year had told me first/then works good with him so I tell him first work then maybe Ipad. So we are supposed to be going to gym and he’s refusing to go and somehow I get him up to go and we are walking to the gym and he stops and throws his metal water bottle across the floor thankfully it doesn’t have water in it and then throws himself on the floor. I tell him get up in a stern voice but he still stays on the floor so I repeat in a stern voice to get up and get his water bottle. A guy that does high school SPED gets his water bottle off the floor for him. I was pissed off. This boy had a para the year before who would do everything for him. He’s about to be going into middle school. As a para basically we were told we want to work ourselves OUT of a job so you want the kids you work with to gain independence not have to rely on you for everything. He would try to give me his heavy ass book bag and I was like ” no you carry.” and same thing with the water bottle. Just cutting a very long story short I will NOT be working for school district during the summer again. Every week dad or someone in the family was complaining about something and mostly related to transportation stuff. The driver I rode with was awesome and we had some good laughs about stuff.

Log in to write a note