beginning of school year

Hey everyone so sorry for the very late entry on the start of our school year. Technically school started August 28th. The kids in our class are awesome compared to other years. Our friend from last year that witnessed  his sister get killed we got again but this year he’s a somewhat different kid. He’s asking for help on assignments in a subtle way but for me it’s a HUGE improvement from last year when he would get so upset if you tried to help him. We are having less elopements or leaving the room without permission. The other students are pretty decent too. There is one student that was in the other SCCC room last year whose mom passed away. I knew his mom. Me and her went to middle school and high school together. She was a cool person until she dated a guy that would physically and probably verbally abuse her all the time. I feel like things went downhill for her from there. She got into drugs and unfortunately ODed and I heard he was the one that found her. He tries me bonkers in more ways than one. He is overly confident, very defiant. If you ask him to do something or even just make a comment about something he has to argue with you,he talks constantly and won’t be quiet. There’s a girl who has a very long name issue with her brain and is prone to focal seizures and has issues with her balance and walking. We came to find out from her mom that her para last year was another one that did everything for her so she came in thinking that’s how it was gonna be with us. If you comes up to me and tries to get me to ask a question to the teacher for her I tell her no she needs to go ask for herself. I’ve told  her you may be with us for the next 2 years but you need to learn to speak up for yourself because after that you aren’t going to have us and you need to learn how to advocate for yourself and do things for yourself. I won’t lie I have a soft spot for her because she reminds me of my friend Lil Michelle who was hit by a drunk driver and has a TBI because of it and also has issues with her balance and walking too. So yea I feel like this year is a decent group of kids.

 

Log in to write a note