update about school

So it’s been interesting at work. The kids are getting comfortable so we are starting to see behaviors. One student puts his hand down his pants and claims that his privates itch but we think it’s just attention seeking/avoidance behavior, another one when he gets in trouble for whistling or making noises puts his head down on the desk or goes and stands in the corner, says he’s a bad kid, that he’s stupid. Another one who follows what others do whether it’s good or bad, 1 girl who is lazy and doesn’t like to do some things so she sits and cries. I’ve had a convo with her and told her she needs to communicate what’s going on instead of crying because we aren’t mind readers and if we don’t know what the problem is we can’t fix it. Another student who talks back actually we have a few that get attitude and talk back. My itching friend talks non stop and it’s very hard to get anything done because he will not be quiet. We just got a new student who does not listen. His avoidance is sleeping so when he doesn’t want to do something he will try to fall asleep so the teacher makes him stand up to keep him awake. He does not listen to directions and twice today he started crying. So with all that going on I was notified this morning that when a building para is out me, this other para who is pretty much doing what I did last year and another fellow named Mr.L were going to rotate if a para was out BUT there is another para in self-contained who is not being put in the rotation so me and the other para are going to have a conversation about that situation after school tomorrow because we don’t feel like it’s fair that we are part of this rotation but she doesn’t have to be. The other para made a good point if she is able to do her job in her classroom being a building para sub is the same thing except she would be in a different room and have to move around depending on who she was with. The other para has health issues and supposedly restrictions but she returned to the classroom so to me that is saying that she can do the duties of her job. The para that is going with me to talk to the principal literally said she feels like they are trying to push her out of that room and that’s how I felt last year as well. I hate to say this but it sounds like that’s why she was hired was to be like me last year and basically be a float but she told me she was not informed that she would be doing other things when she interviewed for the position and for me I finally got back into a actual classroom and I don’t feel like I should be pulled to go fill in for a building para. My position is instructional para not building para. That’s the whole reason I switched from being a building para because I didn’t want to have to go all over the place. I like being in one place. The teacher is wonderful and treats me as an equal. I just want to be able to do my job and with having to be shuffled around I don’t feel like I am. It’s very frustrating.  So I will try to update everyone about what happens tomorrow.

Log in to write a note
September 29, 2022

Itching friends are funny

I suppose you don’t want to rock the boat, ey

September 30, 2022

Yikes you have your hands full.  Please keep us posted as to what the principal says.