Babbling like a brook

Well, I am now the proud owner of a pasta server. Last week there was a bit of an awkward moment when Ember and Rah-Rah came over for dinner. We were having spaghetti and I had no pasta server. Oops. It’s not a huge thing, it’s just they expected me to have one because I usually have stuff like that. At any rate, I now have the following cooking utensils at my disposal should the need arise: solid turner, slotted turner, spoon, slotted spoon, pasta server, ladle, whisk, silicone spatula, and silicone stirrer. Not that anyone really cares, but I think I’m covered for most of the basics.

I’ve been watching Good Eats a lot and I really like Alton’s approach to cooking. I had actually been considering buying the same brand of cast iron skillet that he mentioned on a recent show, and it’s not something you have to go to a restaurant supply store to get, they carry them at Wal-Mart. I was cruising the Wal-Mart when I got my pasta server and noticed they had all kinds of goodies that I’d never noticed before like those flexible cutting sheets he uses to drop stuff into his stand mixer while it’s mixing. The knives look ok but I think I’m going to stick with the place on the Internet I get cooking knives from. They are restaurant quality and very easy to clean even if they are just your basic white handled industrial look.

I’m supposed to be going over to Critter’s later to talk, but it’s almost 0100 and she mentioned she might have problems getting rid of K’s father after he dropped her off. It seems he likes to sleep over so he doesn’t have to drive “all the way back home” which is a whopping ten miles. Jackass. I told her she should throw his butt out and if he won’t leave call the cops and they’ll get him out. I actually suggested applying a baseball bat to his groin first but she doesn’t have one in the house. I was a little surprised at that since she has a nine-year-old son, but I let it go. I wasn’t the most athletic kid and I still had a baseball, bat, and glove. I thought that was a normal boy thing. Oh well.

Back on topic, I needed someone to talk to because I got kind of bummed today about something that happened. I tried to get it off my chest in a private entry but that didn’t do it. When she called me back after she got home to let me know the plan she mentioned that she wanted to talk about some stuff too. I told her to go ahead and give me a call if she could get him to leave since I’ll be up all night anyway, but at this point he’s probably camped out for the night.

I’m a little tired but I’ve got to stay up or I’ll never make it through my whole shift tomorrow night. Of course if I was to lay down and fall asleep then she’d call, sure as shootin’.

Log in to write a note
April 7, 2008

yeahhhhhhh!!! noodle spoon! still need to talk call me, I have no sense of time and i’m a light sleeper if i go to sleep.