Chevron seven is locked in place…

(Kawoosh!)

Boo-Yah!

Yep, We bad. We know it. Uh-huh uh-huh uh-huh.

We got done.

Let me say that again: we got done.

There were a few minor things that needed to be corrected before we could leave, but we got done.

Moving on: it’s surprising how things you never thought you’d say have a way of just jumping out of your mouth without even a pause at the lips to look and think “wow that’s a long way down” before out they come. The second shift guys were having a little trouble getting to where they needed to be to hand the store over. I was roaming the store looking for people doing nothing that could be put to use getting the store in shape so I wouldn’t have to have my guys do it when I came across this young lady who was doing something that, while important, wasn’t actually urgent (Steven Covey strikes from the depths of my unconscious when I least expect it). I asked her about it, and she told me that her hourly manager had asked her to do it otherwise she’d be helping with the other stuff. She also pointed out that since I’m a salaried manager, if I gave her permission (her emphasis)…

Without even blinking (or thinking about it) I said, “permission is granted. Make it so.” No idea where that came from after all these years. I’ve never said it before, although I’ve never really had the occasion to, but still. It does have a nice ring to it though…

I just finished watching the new Knight Rider movie on my TiVo, which I’m seriously hoping they pick up as a series for this fall. I figure I can wait that long because after all, let’s get it right if we’re going to do it. I do wonder what happened to the 2K version of K.I.T.T. but I have to say the 3K version kicks some serious ass. Lots slicker displays too, since they don’t have to be practical effects like the original. Digital overlays are such cool things.

My parents have moved across the country. They left yesterday to drive to Seattle, or somewhere near there. I have to watch the house for them now and check it once a month or so. Of course my dad turned off the Internet service, so I can’t set up web cams to monitor the place. I am probably going to be making some changes while they’re gone. The first thing I’m going to do, since their HVAC unit is notoriously inefficient, is to put an electronic programmable thermostat on it to keep the house between sixty and eighty-five degrees rather than having to worry about which way the thing is set when the weather changes. I want to get them a more secure mailbox as well and properly mount it since I’ll be making such infrequent trips up there. I’ve seen large capacity mailboxes with locking compartments on them before, but I don’t know how much they cost.

I’ve got to go up there tonight (I haven’t been to bed yet and I’m getting sleepy) and clean out the fridge and the pantry, taking what I want and throwing out what I don’t. I’ll check the dates on the canned stuff in the pantry but I’ll probably just leave it there unless it’s really old. I mean, I ate a can of chili that was eight years old one time and there were no problems. I really think the eighteen to twenty-four month shelf life of canned goods is just to keep someone from getting sued if you’re stockpiling for the apocalypse and eat a twenty year old can of beans or something.

I’m starting to ramble, and my auto-correct is going nuts trying to keep up with my sleepy typing (I compose these in Word and then copy them) so I’m going to go to sleep now.

Have a safe and pleasant day everyone!

Log in to write a note
February 20, 2008

So you pulled a Picard…. That’s alright.

You big Star Trek nerd!!!!!!!

February 27, 2008

aw the rents are gone. it will be ok. free house anyone,maybe a really cool party???