Exploring More of New Trek

I didn’t jump on the Strange New Worlds bandwagon when it first left spacedock because I was already pissed at Paramount for 1) the mess of a show and retcon machine they called Discovery and 2) I’m not a big fan of paying for TV with commercials in it, thats what cable is for, not streaming. At any rate, when Lower Decks came around, I was sufficiently intrigued by the clips I saw on YouTube to buy the DVDs and I liked it. It’s not a traditional Star Trek series but then the Cerritos isn’t exactly a “hero ship” either. Think about it, the folks that are good enough for Starfleet but not good enough for ships like Voyager and Enterprise have to go somewhere right? Enter the California class – the bastard child of an Oberth and a Phoenix, lol. Calling it a kit-bash would be insulting to the actual kit-bash ships since the Cali class was done this way on purpose, not because these were the parts they had laying around. Anyway, Lower Decks, while it has its flaws, grew on me. Then I was given access to the basic tier of Paramount+ for free.

I saw Picard season 1 and liked it, season 2 not so much. I’ll take season 3 as an apology for season 2 and the proper TNG sendoff we never really got in Generations. I was hyped for the SNW/LD cross-over, and delighted when I saw it. I liked the way the TOS era characters were portrayed, both respectful of canon but with some new takes as well. Now I’ve got a few extra days off and I’m binging season 1 of SNW, and I’ll probably move on to season 2 next week. I like it.

Work on Sunday was an absolute nightmare. I’m not sure if it really was super-busy that afternoon or if it was just because I new it was my last day before my long weekend. The customers just would not stop coming. In addition to the thirty self-checkouts we had four registers open but probably needed six, I could not catch a gap between my customers to clean my belt or scale or organize my cash drawer at all (we share drawers between cashiers and the prior user/s had been very sloppy), and it seemed everyone had $300-$600 buggies and they were 30% to 50% produce and meat which slow things down tremendously. My back hurt so much I had to turn off my light and close my lane and leave early. I only managed half an hour but I was in so much pain and I was SO ANGRY at management for making really bad decisions about personnel utilization. We had more cashiers available to open more lines, but they were out on the sales floor doing not-cashier work. Why? They saw what was going on and still let it happen. And remember, this isn’t just a tired cashier grumbling, this is a tired cashier who used to be a very good manager before my brain melted and I had to step down for my own health. I would have never left the front end in the condition they did all day, not when there was a way to alleviate the congestion.

I ordered a pizza for the first time in a few weeks today and now my tongue is sore and I can’t eat it, I have no idea why. I was fine this morning when I ate my breakfast croissan’wich from Burger King and now it feels like I’ve strained my tongue and it hurts to move it when I chew or swallow. I guess if I can’t eat then watching my weight and my A1C won’t be much of a problem for a while. No real worries on the A1C btw, I’m only .1 our of normal and it’s been pretty steady at that reading for a while now without any real problems. That may be my own personal “normal” now, like how I run around 97.5°F on a regular basis and not 98.6°F like the textbooks say I should.

Log in to write a note