Thoughts on SNW Season 1

Well, just finished up my binge watch of Strange New Worlds and I enjoyed it. Obviously I knew some crew were going to have to be replaced over time to get to the crew we see in TOS, but I was really hoping it would be through promotions or transfers and not red shirt-itis. Oh well.

Episode 1 – Does anyone else think that Pike with a beard looks like Jamie Lannister?

Episode 2 – A little strange, with a hint of a causality loop thrown in, but it was ok.

Episode 3 – As many physicals and scans and trips through the transporter as that officer has had no one ever noticed this particular little violation of Starfleet regs? Really?

Episode 4 – A little bit of back story and world building, but done in a compelling manner, I like it.

Episode 5 – This is just a fun episode all around.

Episode 6 – I really want to say I saw it coming but I really, really, didn’t.

Episode 7 – Orion Pirates! A look at T’Pring’s job! Movie character tie-ins!

Episode 8 – This was the technical folks showing off, lol. Costumes, set design, set dressing, lighting, all very good, just the right combination of elements.

Episode 9 – Feels like a movie re-make, but not a Trek movie. You’ll understand if you see the episode.

After watching the season finale I went back and watched the TOS episode they are living through and even with the changes to the timeline they were very faithful to the “original” version of events up until the point they needed to not be. Although, for some reason I was under the impression that Farragut was a Constitution-class and not, what I’m assuming is a pre-TMP refit, Miranda-class. If I’m wrong on that class assignment let me know.

That’s all for now. My tongue is still hurting. I’m watching Bones on BBC America right now, but it’s not that good of an episode and I may hit the hay. Or I might play a video game, who knows?

Log in to write a note