I did not harvest the wheat

After I double-checked, it turns out in addition to the stalks and seed heads/cobs being brown-ish you have to wait for the berries/seeds to fully develop. I checked a couple of them today and they are still in the “milk” stage, which much like corn in the same stage is gross when you squeeze one.

TreeSap and I set up our next date, which was unexpected. She saw an event on Facebook and wanted to go, and since she’d have to drive past my house to get there she asked if I wanted to make it a date. I’ll be seeing her next weekend and then we have our trip to Pigeon Forge together the weekend after that, then I get a week of rest before I head out to California for my nephew’s wedding. As many weddings as I’ve made heroic measures to attend in the past three decades I should expect to see my side of the church completely filled when/if I ever do get married, but I’m fairly certain that everyone will be too busy or too far away.

Never ever ever buy wheat straw from Lowes. Don’t do it. I’ve never had a problem with wheat straw purchased at Home Depot, but I forgot to stop on the way home last weekend and Lowes is closer. Now in addition to popcorn (it only took five days, this stuff grows FAST) coming up through the wheat straw I used as mulch I also have actual wheat and Lord only knows what else coming up. The whole point of a mulched bed is to prevent weeds, not plant them. It’s possible the pumpkins will cover and kill all the smaller stuff later on but I don’t put that in the ground for another three or so weeks so I’ve got to weed my flippin’ raised bed because the mulch I used to prevent weeds actually introduced them.

Sapling #3 wanted to stay the night tonight. Apparently he didn’t want to go to his aunt’s house again while TreeSap was at work. She told him that it wouldn’t be fair if he got to spend the night before she did. Pretty sure it went over his head (he’s eight) but she and I had a good chuckle about it.

Log in to write a note