I don’t know why I thought it would be any different

One of the Trainer III’s (I’ll call him Silverback because he acts like one: all bluster and sound when something doesn’t go his way but if you stand there long enough he’ll figure out you’re not intimidated and go bug someone else) was supposed to teach the “Into to Hourly Management” course this week but he doesn’t like teaching that course so naturally “something came up” and I had to cover it for him today. I’ll probably have to cover it all week, never mind that I’ve taught it two weeks in a row and honestly it’s very draining maintaining the energy required for this course three weeks in a row. I was supposed to be watching one of the Trainer I’s teach this week (I’m a Trainer II) but her class got cancelled last minute. I was really looking forward to it because a) she’s taught this class four or five times so I don’t really need to pay attention to be sure she’s behaving and b) I have a class I’ve never even looked at the material for coming up in the next few weeks and I’d like as much time as possible to prepare.

BossMan forwarded an e-mail to the team today that was clearly intended only for the salaried folks, I know this because I used to be one and recognized what they were talking about. He’s an idiot. Also, the mystery four people the original sender was looking for are probably the four brand new salaried folks in the store my training facility is next to, so he (and the original sender) lack basic reasoning/problem solving skills. BossMan is going to lose the team he’s put together. Morale is at an all-time low and all he’s focused on is getting promoted. That came up during my evaluation, by the way, him getting promoted. Not normal fare for an eval, how to help your own supervisor get promoted. He also let slip that our company apparently has a team of people dedicated to monitoring employee social media posts. That’s just lovely, because Lord knows there’s nothing else they need to be spending their money on. Hence the heavily anonymized diary.

Some of my new “toys” are getting delivered tomorrow, but this batch is UPS and they’ll leave ’em on the porch for me. I’ve got the oversized stuff that has to be shipped as freight coming next week so I’ll be here to sign for it. Hopefully I’ll be able to make significant progress on the fence and the farm plots. It’s supposed to be in the low 30’s (F) tonight, so I hope my pepper plants don’t die. Pretty sure the wheat, garlic, and onions will be OK though. The official “last frost” date for this area is actually today, but it’s been so warm lately I wasn’t worried about the garden anymore and took apart my cold frames for storage. Dang it. I may have to build a greenhouse and move my planter boxes into it after I harvest them this summer.

That’s all for tonight, much calmer and less entertaining than manic me yesterday, I know. I’ve got a load of laundry to pop into the dryer, and soon bedtime will be upon me. Good night everyone!

Log in to write a note