And I thought they smelled bad on the outside [Edit]

Cooking lamb for the first time ever, and veal for the first time in a long time and OMG the smell! Not to worry, it’s not a rotten smell, just really meaty. For someone who has spent most of my kitchen time this past year cooking various forms of poultry and fish it was a bit of a surprise. For my diet folks, lamb and veal are both on my approved proteins list but I can’t normally get them. I’ll occasionally grind up one of the various beef cuts I’m allowed to have and make them into burgers (the portions are really too small to make it worth trying to leave them as steaks or roasts) but then I have to clean the grinder which, since it’s all stainless and not all that hard, is still not something I enjoy doing.

Saw The Martian for the first time today and liked it. I’ll probably add that to my list of BDs to buy. I’m not really buying into the whole 4k craze until I have a player and a television that are capable of playing it. And notice how 4k has been around for almost five years and no one is broadcasting in it yet? Streaming, yes, but not broadcasting. I’ll wait on this one just in case it’s the next HD-DVD, lol.

It rained all day today, but I had all doors and the one window that has a screen open so I could air the place out. I like to do that when the weather is nice in case there’s any funk that’s built up I’ve gone nose-blind to. Not that I’m nasty, I’m just a little paranoid about how I, my house, and my clothes smell. I am a little OCD, but it’s only to the point it’s diagnosable, my therapist (at the time) said it wasn’t worth medicating. She said I’d learned to live with it and while people might occasionally give me the side-eye or just sigh at the occasional eccentricity it wasn’t interfering with my life so she was just going to let me be me.

In case you don’t feel like slogging through the old entries, the two biggest things I live with daily are depression and ADHD. I have been medicated in the past for both but the depression medication was exacerbating liver problems caused by my weight and the ADHD medication made me feel like I had a sack over my head so I stopped taking both of them AMA. No worries, self-harm has never been on my radar and I’ve learned to manage my “squirrel!” moments. Also thrown into the mix at the barely diagnosable level are the aforementioned OCD, a bit of anxiety (which the depression medication made worse), and a healthy helping of imposter syndrome (that’s a Wikipedia link, but I’ve found them generally reliable for non-controversial topics).

And I’ve been jumping around, dancing, and been in a REALLY good mood for a good chunk of the past five hours, so I’m fairly certain I’m having one of my rare but highly entertaining manic episodes. I’m probably not going to run naked down the street, but honestly I’m a nudist so I might do that even when I’m not having a manic episode. 😂 To give you an idea of what it feels like try to read and internalize this whole entry in thirty seconds.

And now I have to go check on my food because I’m not sure I set the oven timer…

EDIT: I totally set the timer, so no burnt offerings for the ToyMan tonight, lol.

Log in to write a note
April 15, 2018

It rained all day today here, too. A nice spring rain. I love spring.

April 16, 2018

I really liked The Martian, especially the book!