I take little pleasure in terminating people…

…but sometimes a little is all it takes.

I fired two people tonight, but one of them managed to get herself unfired. I’m a little cranky about that one because we were right to can her and it was only overturned because *if* it had gone to our district HR person he would have overturned it. she probably would have made a stink though and it would have been really tedious.

The other one just couldn’t do her job. She’s been a complete cluster everywhere she worked in the store for the past three years but rather than holding her accountable to performance standards they just kept moving her around the store. I laid out the rules, told her the standards, showed her what to do to reach them. She kept making excuses. For example tonight, I looked at the report showing her alotted time to get done, and gave her almost twice as long as she was allowed. I went to check on her about thirty minutes into her three hours and she told me right away that she thought she only had one pallet but they just brought this other one out and…

And I cut her off by telling her it was already included in her counts and I had allowed time for it. Then I told her to get done. Oh well.

I do feel bad that I fired her the night of our Christmas party. But she did win a gift in the drawing, so that was good.

I had an interview with the project folks today. It went *really* well. So I can interview well when I’m on my meds. She as much as told me I’d get an offer letter. Yay! Don’t know what the offer will entail though, and if the money isn’t right I won’t be able to take it. But who knows…

Queeg’s last day was today. I’ll go into that later. Might have to work Friday night. It’s not mandatory, and I’ll get another day off the week after Christmas if I do it. I’m sooooo tired, and they *know* since they asked and gave a good reason I’ll probably come in. But dammit, it’s not fair. They’re manipulating me, we all know it, and I’ll probably let them.

But I’m so tired…

Log in to write a note
December 17, 2008
December 17, 2008
December 17, 2008