I’m so tired

Really, I am. We’ve been on five twelve-hour days since AlaskaMan left (seven or eight weeks). Now that we have a new senior manager we’ve been cut back to the normal four twelve-hour days for the next two weeks. I spent most of the past two days sleeping. Critter came over for a bit yesterday and we finally watched Kung Fu Panda. K was with her and got a lttle rambunctious, but it’s no big deal. Critter was fussing at her for tearing pages out of the coloring book I bought her and I told her I didn’t care, I bought it for her and B to share, it’s not like it’s a family heirloom and as long as she doesn’t do it to Harry Potter or The Lord of the Rings then it really doesn’t bother me, so she stopped fussing but I could tell she was a little uncomfortable about the ripping sounds coming from behind the couch.

Saw my doctor today and it’s a flippin’ good thing I showed up earlier than I normally do because she’s in a different office now. She’s in the same complex but on a different floor and at the other end of the building. It would have been nice if the folks that called yesterday to confirm the appointment had mentioned that. Nitwits.

Anyway, I got my vyvanse refilled, so I have to start getting used to the feeling that I’ve got a restrictor plate on my brain again since it’s been so long since I’ve taken it. I really hope this and the reduced hours will put me back in the groove at work.

Not sure if I mentioned it or not but Queeg wants me to come to the staff meeting on her last day, even though I’m off. She says she has something for those of us who have been there since she got there. That’s only six of the twelve managers we’ve got now plus one of the senior managers.

She really didn’t/doesn’t like AlaskaMan, not sure why. I figure he must have been doing something right or they wouldn’t have made him a facility manager.

I think Ember’s finding being in the step-parent role (or at least in the on deck circle for it) is a little more taxing than she realized, which I find utterly strange since she’s the one that helped me into it. Of course I think Critter and I divided things more evenly than she and TacoBoy have been doing, and that’s more his issue than hers, but it takes a lot out of a person. I’m here if she wants to talk, and she knows it, but I think she’s trying to work it through on her own for now.

I feel like such an ass. I missed B’s play last night. Critter and K left here around 1630 to go home and get ready for it (it was at 1800) and I told them I’d see them there, set my alarm and laid down for a nap. Eight hours later when I finally wake up…

I can only hope her dad was there, then she probably wouldn’t have noticed I wasn’t. I’d have called Critter earlier but I’ve spent most of the past twenty-four hours asleep. I hope I’m caught up now.

I got some of my parent’s Christmas decorations up, mostly the outside stuff, but the string of lights we’ve been using finally gave up the ghost and will have to be replaced. We got five Christmases out of it so I’m not really complaining, but one more would have been nice since I don’t have the extra money to buy them a new one right now. I was going to put the tree up, but I just didn’t have the energy to put up the twelve-footer and my third tree (a seven-footer) is in their storage unit and not at their house so I didn’t have it to put up. My mom said they’d get it up when they got there. They used it last year since I couldn’t get up there to put up the big one, and the room it’s in just swallows it whole (it’s the main room of the cabin and it has a twenty-foot cathedral ceiling) but at least they’ll have one up. She said the lights on the big tree are starting to fail anyway, and she thinks there are at least two layers that don’t work, so it’d look funny anyway. She wants to replace it but the really big trees are so expensive now. They only paid about $250 for that one four or five years ago, and now similar trees run well over $300. I asked if they bought it after Christmas when it was marked down and she said she was pretty sure they bought it either Thanksgiving weekend or the first weekend in December. Oh well. If they do get another one I’ll see if I can get that one working properly and use it for my main tree next year. I know, two seven-footers and a twelve-footer in the same room (and I may put the other seven-footer in the guest room) is a bit much but I really get into the Christmas decorations, as some of you may recall. There’s a pic of my old apartment a few entries down from that. I can’t get a decent picture of the decoratiosn at my new place, but maybe next week. The only thing I asked for this year was a decent digital camera. I told my parents to get the best digital camera they could get for fifty bucks, but whatever else they wanted to spend was ok by me. And you can get a pretty good camera for fifty bucks these days. Kind of makes me feel silly for paying seventy for my 3.3 megapixel one four years ago, but that was a pretty good price then.

I’m done rambling now. I’m going to see what the magical TiVo has grabbed and then maybe play some video games. I won’t be going to sleep anytime soon since a) I’ve been asleep for most of the day anyway and b) I just took a vyvanse about an hour ago and that’ll keep me up for at least ten hours.

Night all!

Log in to write a note
December 10, 2008

Wow, you must’ve been pretty tired. ryn~ microsoft word is a good idea, but a virus wiped out my word program on my computer. :'( So, it won’t do that for me.

December 11, 2008

I sincerely hope Critter realizes what a gem she has in you!

December 11, 2008

RYN: I’m a total stranger so my opinion aint’ worth jack. But…I hate to see you being taken advantage of; you’re such a great guy. I’m already taken or I’d give you a whirl myself.