I’ve started the new job!

I’ve been in my new position for a week now and have really only gotten to spend ten or so hours of the fifty or so I worked actually doing my job. I was caught up in general manager duties because they were short-handed, but that’s really not why I’m there. I’m not supposed to be a part of store coverage, I’m supposed to be focusing on getting this new division started. That’s going to be a bit tricky apparently. Some of my new division takes responsibilities and people from an existing area, but the manager hasn’t kept duties and responsibilities delineated like she should have and now I’ve got a mess of untangling jobs to do which is pissing everyone off. Some of the people that are “mine” are listed in that job by personnel, but they have never actually done that job and some of the people doing jobs in “my” area have never been coded in my area. Just yay.

Construction has started, and they’ve given me a list of paint colors I’ll need for my walls so I can paint when they’re through. WTF? How much are we paying these guys to re-build this part of the store and they aren’t even going to paint? In addition to everything else I’ve got to make time for that now. When we took down some old bulletin boards in a room I’m taking over there was a five-foot by two-foot hole in the wall. The “construction” guys said we’d need to take care of that because it looked bad. Again, what am I paying these guys for? My secure door that requires a special RFID badge to get into my secure files area is currently propped open 24/7 because the guys that installed it are apparently not the same guys who wire it to the electrical panel and no one knows exactly who those guys are.

To top it all off I’m probably not ever going to get paid correctly. I’ve escalated to the next level over the nitwit I’ve been dealing with and it did no good. Despite the fact that this mistake in my pay is going to cost me around $5k/year I really don’t have time to fight with them anymore, which is probably the outcome they were hoping for. I’ve got too much to do to get this new division up and running and I respect my new Facility Manager too much to just quit when they’re this far behind. I see I haven’t mentioned this yet: there is a pre-launch kit sent out fifteen weeks prior to launch with checklists and instructions and what all. I personally broke the seal on it Wednesday and we’re six weeks out from launch. Well, one way or the other, come grand opening everyone in the district is going to know my name.

Log in to write a note