More detail

Ok, so the class I’m in sucks. Seriously. The facilitator keeps letting us get off on tangents so he really isn’t facilitating at all and he’s only barely moderating. To top it all off none of the material covered is in the workbooks we were given and since it’s copyrighted material put together by a consultant we can’t get copies of the PowerPoint presentation he’s using. WTF?

Drove over to Ember’s place after, got distracted when I drove past a Barnes & Noble. Yummy books! And we’re walking….

Anyway, even taking out the time I spent in the bookstore it took about forty-five minutes to traverse the fifteen miles separating the hotel I was in and Ember’s place. Yay Atlanta traffic. NOT!

We went and ate pizza at the restaurant TacoBoy works at now and it was really good. I wish we had one of those up in the mountains.

Got a call today in the middle of my lunch break from the Senior Manager Who Shouldn’t Be and she wanted to know when I was getting out of my meeting and would I be coming in to close tonight. I told her we’d be getting out at 1700, but I had to be back at 0800 so no, I wasn’t coming in. The company offered to book a room for me, so I’m well within my rights to stay here, even if it isn’t at their expense. I was telling one of the other managers from my district and yet another manager overheard me and said not nice things about her. They used to work together you see.

We had a bit of trouble with Ember’s router earlier, but I somehow managed to fix it. She’s got the same kind Critter used to have and I’ve come to the conclusion that they just suck. I mean if two different routers made by the same company cause the same problems on two different ISPs and were set up by two different people, I’ve got to question the way the router works. I was allowing for the possibility that I had done something wrong with Critter’s but now I don’t think so.

Almost went to see Star Trek tonight, but the only remaining showing was at 2200 and that was just too late to start a two hour long movie since I have to be back in at 0800. TacoBoy and Ember both liked it, and Ember said TacoBoy was pretty hard core about his Trek. I did ask him one simple question about the original series to see exactly how hard core he was (What was the name of the grain in "The Trouble With Tribbles"?) and he couldn’t answer it. Maybe I’m just too much the die hard Trekker and I’m one of the few that has moved out of their parents’ basement. Who knows?

Had a talk with Critter Wednesday afternoon. She’s stressed and conflicted, but that’s all I’m going to say here, other than I told her to call me whenever she wanted to if she wanted to talk. She said she would.

Lots of nifty stuff coming out on BD right now. I need another raise…

The new org chart for managers is probably going to be rolled out in our region sometime before Halloween or shortly after Christmas. I should have a good shot at making Senior Manager when that happens. I might even get to stay in my district! Yay!

Log in to write a note
May 15, 2009

We’re having a strawberry festival this weekend…it would be neat if you could come and enjoy it.