Musings and Randomness

I talked to Critter yesterday as I was walking to meet Ember at a local restaurant. She told me she’d drive me home if I walked over, that way I could get my exercise, or at least some of it. We talked about what had happened, and we were both a little uncomfortable, but we both know there wasn’t anything behind it but the alcohol. I did say I didn’t think I’d started anything, and I didn’t mean to start anything, but I never stopped her either. We’re both fine with it, and I’m going to do everything in my power to make sure it doesn’t happen again for the sake of the friendship, young though it is.

I was letting my mind wander a bit today, since nothing at work really required my full attention, and I came to the realization that I was a bit moody and depressed that day. It was after the wedding, so I’d just seen two good friends who love each other dearly get married. Ember couldn’t spend a lot of time with me because she was helping get the bride ready before the ceremony, and was busy with other things after. Bedsides, she was there with someone else, so it would have been rude of her to spend too much time with me anyway. At any rate, I was a bit out of sorts and when Critter got cuddly I just let it happen; it felt too good not to. That was wrong. I know that now but I’m not going to beat myself over the head with it. Besides, ToyLady is closer to my own age and her kids are much older. Of course I still haven’t really worked out how I’m going to broach the subject with ToyLady. Sometimes I get the feeling she’s interested, and other times I get the feeling that she’s having trouble remembering my name, so there’s a little confusion there on my part.

The PTB’s have said that we should know Friday where we will be ending up, and this time they really mean it. One girl who thought she was going to have to move was mere hours away from signing a lease that would put her way out of reach of any of the other stores. Now it turns out she isn’t going to have to move at all. We are all upset about this. People have changed their lives, made plans, told their kids to pack up and say goodbye to friends, and now we’re being told “oops”. That is so not right I can’t even describe it. I was going to be looking at places this coming week as well. I thought I was going to get to stay here. I would have to move anyway because my apartment complex is income restricted, and I’m outside the range now. I had a list of a few places in town to look at, but now I may have to move much farther than that so I guess I’ll have to wait. If I go to any store other than the one I was originally assigned to I will have to move, there isn’t another way to work it that I can see. The next closest store already has five or six trainees going to it so I don’t much feature me going there. Unless of course some of those people get moved, but none of them has been contacted about it. So far it was the two people going to my old store and me. I just want to know and get it over with. Then I’ll be able to make some sort of plan. Right now I can’t even really make alternate plans, because there are so many different places they could send me. And that’s assuming they keep me in this district; if the stores are overstaffed when it comes to managers they may pawn me off somewhere else in the region, and pardon my French but it’s a big-ass region.

I tried something I picked up when watching The West Wing and it actually works! It’s a good way of ending a meeting with someone who, well, outranks you is the only way I can think to put it. After the meeting gets to a comfortable end point, but before anyone can ask anything that would drag it on pointlessly for another hour or so, you just firmly say “Thank-you Mr. President (substitute the appropriate name/title of course)” and back towards the door. Everyone else (for reasons I don’t understand) will just chime in with thank-yous as well and follow you out the door. It’s amazing: I did it twice and it worked like a charm both times. I have to be careful to only use my meeting ending power for Good, though….
 
I’m going to sleep. Amanda is spending the night, but she’s not here yet. I need to be asleep when she gets here otherwise I’ll get up and go talk to her. It’s not that I don’t like talking to her, but tomorrow is an early day and that’ll take at least an hour that I could spend sleeping.

Night!

Log in to write a note