Seriously?

Boss Man came in my class today. I thought it was for his normal spiel, which he typically does (when he does it at all lately) on the first day. Nope, he had some of that, but most of why he came in was to present me with a work anniversary certificate. My next “divisible by five” anniversary is next year. This is a completely made-up anniversary certificate that I’ve never seen before at this company. He did it to one of the other folks last week, that one was a four-year anniversary certificate. Completely weird. I have to wonder if he’s sensed unrest in the ranks and is trying to bribe us.

My oldest nephew is getting married this summer, so this year’s bonus was spent on travel arrangements. I had planned to spend it on my fence. Bummer. I’m glad he’s happy and all but couldn’t he have fallen all truly madly deeply with someone who lived closer to me? 😉 The wedding is in California wine country, so of course nothing is cheap out there. When I first booked my hotel I saw the rate and thought it wasn’t bad for a four-night stay. Yeah, that was the nightly rate. Jeebus. I’ve already got the gift covered though; most of their registry gifts were camping equipment so I was able to get them a nice two-person hammock for a reasonable price instead of something insane like billion thread-count monogrammed sheets that they’ll never use.

I hope I don’t get mistaken for a valet when I show up. When I went shopping for a suit last year (because every gentleman should have a nice suit in his closet) I wasn’t planning on rubbing elbows with anyone more than one income demographic up from me so I bought the best suit I could pay cash for that would blend in the circles I thought I’d be wearing it in. Her family is rather more than one demographic up, and again, wine country wedding. Come to think of it, the valets may be dressed better than me…

Log in to write a note