Snow!

We got snow today! It started coming down towards the end of my shift, but it wasn’t sticking to the pavement over there so I wasn’t really worried. Visibility was reduced, about the same as a thunderstorm, but there was no pounding on the roof of my car to annoy me, but people were driving like idiots anyway: fifteen and twenty miles below the speed limit, four-way flashers going, high beams, etc. And this was on dead level ground too; once I got over to the mountain it was worse. I mean, yes, towards the top of the mountain the snow was sticking to the pavement but if you just STOP in the middle of the road then you’re definitely going to be in trouble. Morons.

We have about two inches on the ground up where I am right now and it’s started up again. We got a little bit of sleet then it stopped for about an hour and now it’s back. It’s about thirty degrees out, so it’ll keep accumulating at least until morning. Now for the really good part: I can’t get out of my driveway. Not because of the snow, although I had a bit of a time getting up the driveway in the first place, but because my neighbor was unable to get up the hill. Then she was unable to get down the hill because instead of just putting it in neutral and letting it roll she tried to back down. With the driveway being icy and her back end slipping around she decided the best thing to do would be put it in park and walk away from it. If I thought it would do any good I’d scream and then I’d build a rude-shaped snowman on the hood of her car but it won’t. Besides, I don’t much fancy walking the hundred or so yards down the hill and around the pond to do it much less walking back up. Grrrrr.

So I’m stuck, blocked by a truck, but not technically snowed in. It kind of takes the fun out of it.

Log in to write a note

Saw that on the weather tonight. We were SUPPOSED to maybe get it, but didn’t. I’m jealous!