The Monday-est Monday ever

OMG.

My hourly supervisor wasn’t there today, she called in sick. She apparently tried to send me a text message letting me know she wouldn’t be there (her scheduled in time is fixed, I come in later to make sure end-of-day stuff goes smooth when she’s there and come in early to make sure we get started right when she’s not) but has crappy service at her house and it didn’t actually send until I was on my way home twelve hours later. Fortunately I had a person scheduled in to open who I normally have to watch like a damn hawk but when push comes to shove she’ll actually do the right thing and step up. She did, and fortunately she has extra system privileges that I forgot to take away earlier in the year and was able to kick us off on the right foot. We had almost sixty orders today, normal volume for a non-holiday Monday is between 35 and 45.

We got another bad survey, so yay. This one I know is wrong because I personally QC’d that package and everything, all four freaking items, were in it when it went out, but that doesn’t matter to corporate. Now I need forty PERFECT surveys just to make a minimum acceptable survey score this week. I’m not sure we’ve ever gotten forty surveys in a single week before so I’m pretty well screwed. Had two people take massively long lunches, which put end of day activities behind and ended with me working an hour over. I think one of them had the decency to realize she’d screwed up when she walked in and saw I was still there; I think she thought I’d be gone before her scheduled return time, much less her extremely late return half an hour late.

I lost a new hire Saturday, she just didn’t show up for her training session, so she’s off the schedule. I’m probably going to lose another person this Friday: he’s only got one gear and it’s too slow. We’re going to try to find him something more suitable elsewhere in the facility though, what work he does is good, he just doesn’t do it fast enough to work in my area.

So yeah, the Monday-est Monday ever. 😂

Log in to write a note