I bet y’all thought I forgot again

But I didn’t, it’s just been really busy.

First, an update from earlier years: I recently received word the former co-worker I dubbed Five O’Clock Somewhere (for her tendency to leave five minutes early every day regardless of whether the work was done or not) was diagnosed with a severe, inoperable brain tumor and died shortly afterwards. I’d lost contact since she’d moved to the southern part of the state with her new husband.

The employee I was going to have a chat with about excessively long lunches and cell phone use decided to go to lunch and not come back on one of my days off, so she’s gone. Pretty well screwed us for Friday since we were thin already and I ended up working thirteen hours just to make sure stuff got done properly and on time. Not sure if I mentioned it but I had a newly hired associate that never made it out of the preliminary training stages, she just stopped showing up after three or four days of employment. I’ve decided to put the slow guy up front as my customer contact person so he’s not involved with production at all and we’re not getting the help we need from the department that’s supposed to be doing that for me anyway. Also it’s easier to document performance problems there and ease him out the door if he refuses to improve.

Have to go help open another facility like mine two towns up next week. Normally folks in this area would come train with me but my new district manager (BossMan) sent them all to train at the local dumpster fire instead and now rather than pushing the opening and re-training everyone properly he’s got managers from the surrounding districts coming in to help that morning. I’m supposed to take the Not Me One (my hourly manager) with me but I’m not going to do it. I’m sure we’ll be short-staffed that day or have an extra-large number of orders, it just depends on what crisis is easiest to fake with the time and materials available. Besides, having both of us out with no reliable back-up (cell phone girl was being trained, seems an error in judgment looking back on it) is a bad idea.

Had a chat with my guidance councillor Friday, it seems I’m doing well in the course I’ve been concerned about. I was under the impression our “progress reports” were an e-mail thing but I have to go to a different tab in the course material instead, silly me.

Had a very odd and extremely erotic dream a few nights ago about two former employees. I was never attracted to either of them when they worked for me (they’re twenty-plus years younger than me and both rather odd) so I don’t have any idea where that came from. They’re both on my “work” Facebook but we don’t interact much, they’ve both moved on to other jobs now, and at least one of them is in a committed relationship. They’ve both had kids since I left that store but that’s pretty much all I know about them.

A friend of mine recently asked on Facebook how to deal with nightmares as an adult. Not just a bad dream, but full-on nightmare. I told her the way I dealt with it the one time it happened was to write about it in a journal (I did it here) and then never go back and read that entry. I got to get it out of my system without constant questions from an audience and it helped me. Honestly, I’m not sure I even went back and read the notes on that entry, and I’m certainly not going to go back and look. I don’t know what she ended up doing.

That’s all for today, I will browse for a bit and then see y’all later.

Log in to write a note