The Service

I met up Critter and the kids at the funeral home. She had to drop K off at her daddy’s and he still has issues with me, thinks I should stay away from Critter. I guess he hasn’t clued into the whole "she left him" thing yet. You’d think moving out and signing a lease on a place would be the first clue.

Anyway, the service was OK. Both the preachers were visibly upset (she was only twenty-five and left two small kids) but it was OK. I rode with Critter and the kids to the grave site, but somehow we missed the procession and got there as things were wrapping up. D & B talked to GR’s older son for a bit (they’ve known each other all of their lives, literally) and then we left. Critter took me back to the funeral home for my truck and I told her to give me a call if she needed anything, emphasizing that she should never *not* call me because she thinks she’s bugging me. That happened last night, and we could probably have both used each other’s company.

I go back to work Saturday night, and I’ve got three sixty hour weeks ahead of me to make up the missed time from this week. At least they aren’t making me do it straight through: I get to do three five day weeks instead of doing eleven days straight through. Working overnights sucks this time, and it sucks bad. It’s probably because we’re the only store in the district that doesn’t just let the overnighters go at the end of the shift. At our store we have to stay until it’s right and if that means we stay until its time to come back in then it sucks to be us. Which it frequently does.

Log in to write a note