I was a friend of GR

I was a friend of GR. I met GR four years ago at work. We were both new cashiers, both working late afternoon/closing shifts. I don’t remember which of us started first, but it doesn’t really matter, the diffence was only a week or so between us. She had her two sons already and was trying to get a divorce from the older one’s father and was trying to get the younger one’s father to leave her alone. Her love life ususally had a lot more drama in it than I could keep track of but she seemed happy most of the time so I didn’t say anything much. I occasionally stayed after work with her to do some shopping and I often walked her out to her car after work. I actually changed my parking habits so she wouldn’t have to drive me across the lot to my own car after I walked her to hers.

I changed jobs from cashier to produce clerk and my schedule changed from nights to mornings, so we didn’t see as much of each other as we did before. Shortly after that she moved to the Garden Center where she met her next boyfriend (and future husband). For some reason one of the other workers out there took exception to the fact that they were dating and even though there were not policies being violated, management moved her to the Deli, where I saw more of her again. She and her boyfriend left the store not too long after that, though I don’t remember why. It may have had something to do with one of her ex’s, but I can’t really recall.

I lost touch with her after that. I’d see her around town occasionally. She got a job at a restaurant I went to occasionally and I’d say hi then. I really didn’t run into her again until last year when Critter and I started becoming friends. I guess it was around March or so of last year that Critter and I started talking about things that weren’t work related and I found out she knew GR.

While Critter and I were together GR was often mentioned, and Critter and I saw her a couple of times. She’s the one that hosted the girl party that Critter and Ember went to last year.

I didn’t know her well or see much of her, but I will miss her. Had Critter and I continued dating I’m sure I would have gotten to know her even better.

So here I sit, giving water to the dead, knowing I’ll never see her again, and knowing there’s nothing I can do about it and there’s really no good reason for it. I have to try to work through this, so I can be strong for Critter tomorrow at the funeral. I’ll take these memories with me, and hold them close, and hope I never forget her, but I know that as time passes I’ll think of her less and less, and I think that makes me more upset, even though I know it’s the way of things.

Bye GR.

Log in to write a note

I am so sorry for your loss.

February 28, 2008

OMG, I’m sorry. I wish people would just sit at home and be content when the weather goes to hell. Usually there’s plenty of warning so you can go out and get stuff taken care of before it gets ugly. RYN: If it’s someone I know, I can usually pick up on it (I think it’s the fact I’m bi, bi’s and gays can usually tell “our own kind” know what I mean?), cont’d

February 28, 2008

Part II But back in the Navy and in high school, I was oblivious. LOL Celebrities? Forget it. I can’t tell 90% of the time, primarily because I don’t care. IDK, maybe it’s a me thing