Quick Update

Critter’s back at home now. She’s planning on doing a six-hour vigil through the whole viewing tomorrow. Her mom is taking care of getting the kids after school and everything. I told her I’d probably make an appearance too. And though I understand the anthropological imperative that compels her to watch over her friend’s body and protect it from scavengers until the funeral I’m going to fight the urge and only stay for an hour or so.

She’s doing better now, but I think it’s just her compartmentalizing so she can make it to the funeral, which is understandable. I know it’ll probably get worse before she starts to get better, and she does too, but other people (including her mom) are starting to tell her she needs to "quit crying about it" and things of that sort. I take exception to people who tell others how to grieve; grief is a very personal thing and we have to work our way through it in our own way. All I’ve done for Critter is just be there for the occasional hug or hand squeeze, and to keep the kids from destroying her trailer when she zones out (she took fifteen minutes to wash one coffee cup this morning). We talk about our friend and some memories that only we share, and I think Critter really is getting used to the fact that she won’t be around anymore. The funeral is probably still going to be rough though.

And for those of you who haven’t figured it out (cause I only just did) I haven’t really had time to process my own grief yet since I’ve been so busy being Critter’s even keel. I gotta go.

Log in to write a note

We were all so skinny that my mom would add elastic to the waist of our pants. Yeah……..we didn’t look like nerds at all……..

February 28, 2008

I am sorry for your loss. I hope you feel better soon.