Uneventful day

The best kind, of course.

Had K today as expected. I also had to go get her, which was expected as well. I love her, but Critter is not the most punctual person in the world. She was already twenty minutes late as it was, and if she’d had to bring K over it would have been thirty-five or forty minutes at least. I didn’t mind, it gave me a chance to run into town for our lunch.

Today went much better than the last time I had her, she was in a much better mood and I was too. I guess we were both just tired last time.

I had a chance to take a shot at the feral cat that’s been bugging us. It was off across the ravine on the hillside to the front of my place, just sitting there. There were a lot of branches and what-not between me and it so I had to switch to the .22 barrel, but I got it changed and loaded, got myself out onto the deck and took the shot. And missed completely. At 100 feet. Either sub-sonic .22LR bullets have some freaky ballistic characteristics or I’ve totally forgotten how to line up a three-dot sight. I asked Critter to keep the girls (she and B had come to get K by then) inside, hoping she would distract them from the picture windows, but as I lined up (I thought) on the cat I saw the three of them standing in the window looking off toward the hillside. Whatever. Critter did remark that the report was not very loud, and I told her they were sub-sonic bullets, so no mini-sonic boom "crack".

I broke things off with Belle today. Mostly. I’ll get the phone back from her on Friday. If circumstances change we’ll give it a shot later, but as it stands it doesn’t look likely. I’m going to see if I can convert the phone to a USB connector for my laptop since I’m stuck in the contract now. If I can’t I’ll at least have a spare phone for emergencies.

Having lunch with Critter tomorrow. She doesn’t actually get a lunch break since she’s working such a short shift but we’re going to meet up after her shift. I’m kinda leaning towards IHOP, but I generally let her choose.

I’ve got to take a picture of it, but there is an abandoned building on the side of the highway that has a census form hanging on the door. Idiots. It’s obviously abandoned, I’m surprised it can even support the weight of the bag and the census form. Whoever hung the thing must have some big, round, hairy ones getting that close to a building that could be harboring any number and manner of wild or feral animals. Granted, the grass is maintained, but I think the folks across the street probably do that to keep the mouse population down. I would. At any rate, it’s yet another example of the silliness involved in the census.

Log in to write a note