Updated the desktop

Well maybe this will help with what I was talking about in my last entry. I’ve quadrupled the RAM on my desktop from 4 GB to 16 GB. When I bought it seven or eight years ago that was a $400 or $600 upgrade I couldn’t afford (I did max out the HDD at 1TB though) and it had started getting laggy on me. I’ve probably just updated the OS for the last time but with the extra memory I should get a few more years out of service out of it. Since I try to reserve the laptop for school stuff having the desktop back in the game will make blogging a little easier.

Sent off a request for information on the CSCU certification from the EC Council since my degree will be IT with an emphasis on Cyber security. I figured I should get started on the basics now so I don’t end up with a degree that gets me past HR in the hiring process but zero certifications that show I can actually do stuff. Hopefully by August/September I’ll have PC Pro (a newer certification that may not be widely recognized but it’s included in the price of the class I’m taking so no sense wasting the voucher) and A+ under my belt and can get a job that’s better for my mental health, and if I can get CSCU taken care of by the end of the year that will hopefully help move me along the cybersecurity career path. I can always change companies after I graduate, but since my current company is paying for school I’m staying put until I do.

Any IT/CS/IS folks out there that know of any certs that would be helpful or others I shouldn’t bother with please feel free to comment, I’m new to all this and this is a late-life career change so I want to avoid any mis-steps that will cost me too much time.

Log in to write a note