It’s hard to get back into the swing of this

Before the Dark Days (when OD was off line, lol) I was all up in here almost every day. Sometimes I was a whiny little git and you’d think I was named Skywalker or Tolee but I was here.

I’ve missed another month of blogging, and I really could have used the release. I ended up getting an A in IT-200 and I’m about to start IT-201 (I’m at SNHU) which looks like it’s going to be a bear. On the plus side though, because of the course materials I’ll have a voucher to take the PC Pro certification exam, and even though I’ll have to pay for it separately I’ll be well on my way to being ready to take the CompTIA A+ exams, which is the basic certification almost everyone in IT starts out with. Those two certifications combined should qualify me for a entry-level IT job at my company, which would mean a move to HQ, but it would get me away from the two sources of most of my stress: front-line hourlies who either can not or will not do their jobs properly and customers who cause problems by complaining about not receiving items they didn’t order and other assorted silliness.

I know there are going to be problems and stressors in every work environment, that’s why it’s called work and not happy fun time, but I’ve been doing this for sixteen years now and it’s just getting worse every year. I like my company but I can’t do the front-line management thing anymore, it’s bad for my mental health.

Also, I’ve tried to address the performance issues on my team, and it doesn’t work. For some reason, just like fools, small children, and ships named Enterprise, they are PROTECTED and can’t be touched. HR over-rules me every time, even when I have them on video being wrong.

And lunch is over, time to go back to the grind to see what has happened while I was away.

Log in to write a note
December 30, 2019

It is hard sometimes, but just try to make it easy on yourself – post as little or as much as you are comfortable with!

December 30, 2019

glad to see you back!