Missed a bit!

This work and school thing has been kicking my butt. I got an A in the history class, and I’m well on my way to another A in the IT Fundamentals class I’m taking now.

I’m sick as a dog too, the weather skipping fall and going straight to winter here has just screwed me up. I’ve also been having some vertigo, and that’s new to me. If it keeps on much longer I’m going to see a doctor about it. And now that I’ve typed that it sounds really familiar so I’m going to have to do a diary search after I finish typing this up.

Despite telling me to my face that I suck at my job, on a recent tour of all the facilities in our area mine was called out by BossMan as being the best looking and best prepared for the upcoming holiday surge. He then proceeded to award Best of the Quarter to a facility with a lower customer rating than mine and with far more problems in their operation based on their Net Promoter Score. In case you are wondering, the NPS does not have anything to do with how happy your customers are, how much product goes out the door, or how well you are on process. Mine is something like 82 or 87, and since we don’t use this metric for anything really, I couldn’t even tell you if that’s good or not.

I got a call from the new manager of the training facility I used to work at and he has an opening. I’m considering it even though it would mean a return to driving a hundred miles a day just to get to and from work. Anything to get away from BossMan again. He won’t be able to fill it until January though, all non-critical transfers are halted for the holiday season company-wide. They’ve never done that before, by the way, so I’m thinking there’s a reorganization coming down the line that is going to mean a RIF come the first part of next year. Hopefully it will bypass my division, but if it doesn’t maybe I’ll get a good separation package out of it. Of course that could be a problem on the school front since I’d go from paying $400/year to almost $1000/class.

Log in to write a note
November 12, 2019

It’s good to see you here, I hope you feel better soon!