Some days…

At my company we’re allowed a certain number of absences in six months, and it’s actually very generous. We also have a bank of “free absence days” that all the hourlies have access to so they don’t have to take an absence for a family emergency or anything. One of my people has used all her free absences for stupid things, and now she’s actually sick and has used all of those absences too because she lost track of how many she had. I guess I’m going to have to replace her, I just wish she’d lasted through the weekend since we’re going to be busy.

BossMan sent out a stupid email this morning with a list of reports that we need to clear and wanted to know why they hadn’t been cleared yet. The answer is because we got them about ninety seconds before we got your email. Some people. He’s been with the company about twenty years and has spent probably fifteen of them in staff positions rather than front-line dealing with the customer positions and I honestly think he’s risen above his level of competence, but that’s above my pay grade.

I really should be writing my discussion post for this week’s topic and responding to my classmates’ posts but there’s only so much of “Based on this week’s readings, I believe the War of 1812 happened in 1812.” and responding with “I agree with you that the War of 1812 began in 1812.” Sometimes it’s maddening.

Log in to write a note