BossMan is such an Ass

I got a call at work today from BossMan, wanting to confirm I’d be up to help out in the morning. I said yes, but I wouldn’t be able to bring the Not Me One. I also confirmed he wanted me there at 0600, and he told me no, he had plenty of people there for that, I should come in at 0900 to make sure their afternoon went well.

What the hell. We’ve never done that. Normally we’re there for the pre-open and opening just to make sure the new team is off to a good start and then we’re back off to our own stores to finish the day. He wants me there for a full shift, and they’ve only got twenty orders lined up. Whatever. If they’re doing ok at lunchtime I’m leaving and not going back, there’s no reason for it. Obviously they didn’t want my help to begin with or they’d have been training with me since I’m the most experienced on this side of the mountain. I’ve heard from people I work with that the team we’re opening tomorrow has spent the week dressed in silly costumes and having cookouts for customers to try to drum up business, so obviously a) they feel they are primed and ready or b) they’re going to crash and burn and don’t care.

I declared an area of concentration for my degree and lost some transfer credits in the process. They were filling elective slots that now have to be filled with concentration specific electives. I’m officially focusing on cybersecurity now. SNHU actually has a specific bachelor’s degree for cybersecurity, but I think I’m going to stay with the Information Technology degree rather than changing majors, I’m afraid a degree in cybersecurity wouldn’t be as flexible for future employment prospects, and I don’t have a lot of time to mess around with that at my age. I had a conference with my guidance counsellor today and told her that if it was an option I’d prefer she handled my class registrations, that way she could keep track of prerequisites and timing. I also told her as long as I wasn’t taking Statistics for STEM and pre-calculus (never mind I’ve already taken and passed Calc I) at the same time I was ok with doubling up my classes starting in January so I could get done faster. For now I’m just taking one class at a time so I can get used to being in school again and also because the holidays are coming up and work is going to be super busy. Hopefully next year I’ll be comfortable enough I can take two classes at a time straight through the holidays and not worry about it. Of course by this time next year I’ll be well into my major classes and electives and will be more invested in the material than I am this weird history class.

I am in love with my mom’s dishwasher. I might have to tie it to the top of the car and take it with me tomorrow afternoon when I leave. 😆 Being the bum that I am I brought some other stuff up besides the glassware that wasn’t as clean as I wanted it to be and dang if it doesn’t all look like I just brought it home from the store.

Going to run now, I haven’t slept up here in a long time and I’m sure all the creaks and groans the cabin makes at night will keep waking me up.

Log in to write a note