Well Crap

And I mean that in a literal sense.

My septic system (which I was told I didn’t have) has failed in epic fashion and my back yard smells like an open sewer, which I suppose it technically is at the moment. I’m guessing this means I’m not going to ToyNephew’s wedding out in California if I can get my money back for the tickets and the hotel. If I can’t, I’ll go, it’s money already spent after all, but I don’t have the money to get this fixed and cleaned up if I can’t. Even then that’ll only free up $2k, plus the $4k I’d have on that card that’s only $6k and I’m sure it’ll be more than that. Plus I’m really not looking forward to paying 20%+ interest on that kind of balance.

I’m going to have to contact the lawyer that handled the closing three years ago, I seem to remember her saying something about a certification the house was on city water and sewage and the seller would pay up to $5k to put it on if it wasn’t. That won’t cover it completely but adding my $2k to it should come pretty close and make it easier to get a loan. If I’d known the house had a septic system I’d have insisted on a plumbing inspection and proof of a recent pump-out prior to closing. I guess I’ll add that to my list of things to check on next time I buy a house. I’m not even three miles from the sewage treatment plant, I never in my life imagined I wouldn’t be on city sewer. I am actually on city water, that I know for a fact, there’s a meter in my yard.

This is so aggravating. I have to be up in five hours, out the door thirty minutes after that and at work an hour after that. And I have to be coherent enough to cover content no one else knows because I’m “the reliable one” so I don’t have anyone to back me up, I am the backup. I’d love to see Blowhard or Silverback try to stumble through it but I’d never hear the end of it.

I’m going to try and get some sleep now, just like I’ve been trying for the past three hours.

Log in to write a note
June 19, 2018

What a wretched mess that must be. 🙁 I hope you have some recourse available to you, through insurance or former home owners!